How I Read Book Tag

Greetings from my humble blog!

This day calls for a fulfillment of duty as a responsible netizen of the book blogosphere through (finally) doing book tags.

Last year, I was tagged by Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jesse @ Books at Dawn to do the How I Read Book Tag. Sending my gratitude to these wonderful guys!

Reading-Glasses-On-Book-With-Hot-Tea-Drink

If you’re new to the book tagging business, this one basically involves answering questions and tagging other bloggers to do it as well.

 

How do you find about new books to read?

Luckily (or not), I’m born at such a convenient phase where everything’s possible with a click. My TBR feeds on what the internet dictates.

I used to rely on Top 10 Tuesday posts until blog hopping became a luxury for me. Then there was Goodreads… but I grew a bit lazy to scan my feed there. Right now, my TBRs are mostly outsourced from Twitter which I think is the most expedient since most book blogs and GR updates are linked there.

How did you get into reading?

Reading has been my religion since I was a kid. Our house was/is walled with a shelf filled with academic books. At the prime of grade school, I was already poring my nose into thick encyclopedias (satellites of every planet still committed to memory).

I guess it’s mostly because I am a lucky human being born into a family who loved reading

encyclopedia

How has your taste in books changed as you got older?

A LOT.

  1. I don’t read encyclopedias anymore because there’s Google.
  2. I read more YA than before because of Twitter and book blogging.
  3. Then I grew less awed in YA because every plot seems repetitive… but I still do read it.
  4. I tried the classics and then switched back to my comfort zone right after.

How often do you buy books?

I work nearby a five-story awesome book freaking store so yeah, you have an idea how much I contribute to an author’s paycheck.

It’s mostly also based on the amount of cortisol on my bloodstream aka how much stressed I am. Buying books (and clothes) is my therapy.

anigif_enhanced-13608-1403724061-20

How did you get into book reviewing?

I used to only read and rate a book on Goodreads then move on, pick another book, and repeat the process. I started posting my reviews on Goodreads not until after college and notice how some people have separate blogs for book reviews. And poof! The wild journey commenced!

How do you react when you don’t like the ending of a book?

  1. Rant about it on my review
  2. Give a GR rating it duly deserves
  3. Use it as an entry on most book meme and book tags that have categories connoting negativity (e.g. A book with a the most disastrous conclusion/ Top 10 Books with the Most Horrible Plot)

But then of course, a book can never be outright awful so I try to always point out the points it hit.

tumblr_m6ebf52fvu1rys4czo1_500

How often do you take a sneak peak at the ending to see if there’s a happy ending?

Not ever. If I did, it’s certainly by accident. I mean, what’s the point of reading through the middle if you’re willing to escape that adventure and jump right to the conclusion?


 

I tag:

Aentee at Read at Midnight
CW @ Read, Think, Ponder
Dee @ Bookish Khaleesi
E. Rawls @ E. Rawls Fantasy
Jenna @ Reading with Jenna
Joan @ Fiddler Blue
Kat @ Life and Other Disasters
Liam @ Liam’s Library
Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books
Maan @ Pigeon Reads
Nicolette Elzie @ A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly
Poulami @ Daydreaming Books
Tanaz @ Bookish Freaks
Windie @ Geek Apprentice


 

Let’s connect: TwitterGoodreadsPinterestInstagram Email

 

13 comments

  1. Working near bookstore is definitely dangerous! My office is connected to a mall so whenever I feel stress/tired, I made a trip to the bookstores. Thankfully those are not five-story bookstore or I’ll always be late for work. :p

    Ditto, I never skipped to the ending. I once flipped through the end of a book to check how many pages left and accidentally read a major spoiler. Ugh.

    Thanks for tagging me. I am so behind on book tags, but I will get to it. 🙂

    Like

  2. The source of most of my TBR discoveries as a kid was the library, which makes sense since I couldn’t and didn’t work back then to afford buying my own books. But now I heavily rely on the blogosphere and bookish internet community as well. And yes! I totally agree that most ya books are quite repetitive (though I find it more common in contemporary than other genres). But, same, I keep coming back to them because they are entertaining. 😉

    Like

  3. Thanks for the tag, Trish. I’ve already done this one but thanks for drawing my attention to your answers anyway! I also used to read encyclopedias when I was little, except I’d read the same two volumes over and over because the others were boring 🙂 I’m glad we’ve moved on to reading less boring things 😀

    Like

  4. Woah! I wish I worked next to a 5 story bookstore! But then again, if I would I would be bankrupt by the amount of money I would spend on books! These are some really nice questions! Great post!

    Like

  5. I think I’ll give this tag a try, if you don’t mind. I have a library near my house, but a 5-story bookstore?? I would never be home or have any money haha you’re so lucky

    Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

