TBR Book Tag

It’s been forever since I did a book tag or award! Today, I am featuring a completely random choice of book tag nomination.

Two of my wonderful blogging buddies, Nic @ Nicolette Elzie and Jesse @ Books at Dawn, tagged me to do the TBR Book Tag. It’s practically ten years ago since I was nominated for this so I’m terribly sorry for doing this just now. But hey, thank you lovelies!

The TBR Book Tag

My TBR list is almost empty of books… said no bookworm ever. We practically feed it everyday and it grows further and further. Mine’s actually like an inferno now and yet I still pump it with oxygen. Knowing myself, books I shelf there will most likely be pulled out after a decade so there’s literally no way for me to wipe it out soon.

Onward to the tag!


 

1. How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

Goodreads does the job for me. It’s the best secretary in the universe!

2. Is your TBR mostly print or e-book?

At 23, I have 20/20 vision and I plan to keep it that way. I cut back on reading e-books because they strain my eyes so they’re completely gone on my TBR. That counts unless I’m given a fantastic e-ARC I couldn’t have the strength to resist.

3. How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

It’s mostly based on my mood. My typical style is interchanging fantasy/ sci-fi and contemporary. I want my neurons and emotions to be in a healthy state hence, such reading manner. But sometimes, I feel the urgency of reading a particular book and completely neglecting this mantra when the recommendation for such is intense. 

4. A book that has been on your TBR the longest?

I’ve had my Goodreads account for almost 5 years now but I just recently organized my want-to-read list there in 2014. According to my secretary aka Goodreads, Adultery by Paulo Cuelho is the longest occupant.

t0922ruey-coelho_feat10_1

5. A book you recently added to your TBR?

It’s Kindred by Rainbow Rowell. I totally have no idea she has a new book out! The exciting thing about this is that Kindred is a Star Wars fan-based story. I’m not the biggest fan but that movie’s still fantabulous.

26365537

6. A book that’s strictly on your TBR because of the cover?

I have to say my initial reason for putting Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secret of the Universe by Alire Saenz Benjamin is because of the cover that’s a la Grisha trilogy. It’s been making a wrack in the blogosphere lately though and a lot has been saying it’s worth a shot so now, my reason for having it on my list is more than just its external face.  

aristotle-and-dante-discover-the-secrets-of-the-universe

7. A book on your TBR that you never planned on reading

What kind of reader would put a book on his/her TBR he/she never intends on reading?! Not planning on reading soon, yes, that’s totally understandable but this concept is just cray. It defeats the purpose of using a list in the first place. 

8. A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you

There’s actually tons if truth be told – Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan, Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi, Firebird series by Claudia Gray, etc. As they said, too many books, so little time!

9. A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you

The Winner’s Kiss trilogy by Marie Rutkoski tops the number of recommendations. I might give that a shot quite soon!

9781250056979

10. A book on your TBR you are dying to read

I’ve been thirsting for Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare. I’m a huge fan of her writings and I’m excited for this. I have a copy of the book now but it’s so thick (like 2-inches thick!) I need longer holidays to devour it. Special books like these call for proper timing!

img_0299

11. How many books are on your Goodreads TBR?

Right now, it’s 141. Not too many compared to the others, I know, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it will jump to 200 in the next couple of months. The blogosphere has been a humongous bank of wonderful book recommendations. 


 

As usual, I’m using this post to get to know more other people in the blogosphere so I’m tagging five of my most recent book-blogging followers. It’s nice to meet you!

Kayleigh @ Miserable and Magical
Kelly @ Wonderfilled Reads
Lila @ The Bookkeeper’s Secrets
Marina @ One Tiny Reader
Shana @ Fairy Tale Queen Blog


 

 

 

9 comments

  1. Oh yes, Goodreads is THE best, I don’t know what I would do without it, haha. I just recently found out about Rainbow Rowell’s new book, too, and I’m excited to read it, too bad it’s just a short, shooort book, but I’m hoping it’ll be good!
    And you HAVE to read A Thousand Pieces of You and the Shatter Me series, they are both fantastic! 😀

    Like

  2. Thanks for the tag Trisha! 😊 I have to ask. Do I need to answer the same questions or will I make my own? Sorry I’m REALLY new to this.

    Like

  3. Trisha, ya needs to get your hands on The Winner’s trilogy ASAP. So freaking good- perhaps one of my favorite trilogies of all time!
    I’ve stopped going for books that are super hyped though, because I find myself constantly disappointed. I didn’t like A Thousand Pieces of You OR Shatter Me. 😦 And the Heroes of Olympus series was also mediocre, in my opinion. Personally, I think Riordan needs to give Percy a rest already. I loved PJO, but now it’s gone too far. 😛

    Like

  4. My copy of Lady Midnight has finally arrived but it’s going on the backburner (I can’t believe I’m saying this) until I finish The Winner’s Crime. As for 20/20 vision, I am SUPER envious. My eyesight is very blurry and I’ve had glasses since I was 4-yes, four years old. But I don’t ever wear them, honestly. And haha, actually… I do have books on my TBR I never plan to read. To clarify though, just my virtual Goodreads TBR and not my real one that exists in real life. I have first book of Game of Thrones on there but I think I mentioned to you before… I don’t see myself ever reading it. 😛

    Like

    • Ugh me too! I was so excited when I had my hands on to Lady Midnight but now I had to read it for later until Six of Crows. Really?? 4 years old?? That’s tough. Well, when I was young I thought wearing glasses are cool because you look smart and well-respected. Now, my good eyesight is my priority. After Game of Thrones, I don’t intend to read the next books. I feel like I’m stuck in my YA comfort zone. Haha 😀

      Like

  5. Kindred Spirits is super cute. If you like Rainbow’s other books, you should definitely read that one. And it’s so short, so you could get it done in a couple of hours.

    Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

