FBCYA: Diverse YA Books

Hey everyone! I’m reporting for my FBCYA duty. I’m supposed to be on a blogging slump these days but of course, what kind of person would I be if I break my oath with my sisterhoods, yeah?

Anyway, in case you didn’t know, FBCYA stands for Fanboy Book Club Young Adult. Um so yeah, it’s a book club for fanboys of YA books. Can I make it any more blatant? Basically, this is a means to unleash the inner fanboy in you. This is the brainchild of Bianca @ Ultimate Fangirl and this month’s host is MC @ Blame the Books.

Card

One of the activities for this month is to make a post about diverse YA. It’s hard to come up with a list since nowadays, there’s not a huge diversity among this genre. I’m starting to lose faith in authors lately for worshiping capital gains more than uniquity and expression. *sigh*

But of course, there are still some books that stood out.Β Please let me know if you’ve read any of these and let’s talk about them over a cup of tea, yes?

Untitled.png

Click on these titles to be directed on their Goodreads page.Β 

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Unwind by Neal Shusterman
The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I’m becoming so exceptional at laziness lately so I’m sorry I didn’t give even at least short descriptions on these. On the brighter side, this leaves room for more mystery so please check them out! Chao!


 

15 comments

  1. I need to get A Monster Calls A.S.A.P. That book might break my heart, yeah?
    This is a great list, Trisha. I totally forget about the diversity in Unwind, but you’re so right.
    Just give in to your slump, you’ll recover faster that way. Lol. But honestly, worrying about having a slump just going to get you even more tired and dread having to write a post. :p

    Like

    • Ahh yes! I hope you get to read A Monster Calls soon. It’s a different kind of story. I guess you were a bit spoiled on how you might feel about it but in my case, I thought it was anything but poignant.

      Ahh yes. I’m sorry if I haven’t checked on your blog lately. I will go blog hopping again sometime soon. I just worry I get too comfortable about this slump that I end up not wanting to go back. Hopefully not! Haha πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha, Trisha, always look on the bright side right? Definitely lots of mystery associated with those books now! πŸ˜›
    Anyway, I actually just borrowed out Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda today from the library! So I’ll be reading that soon – ILL MAKE SURE TO TELL YOU ALL ABOUT IT! πŸ˜›

    Like

  3. Great choices, I loved Simon vs. I really need to read A Monster Calls soon! πŸ™‚ And it’s glad to see a little post of yours here, but if you feel like taking a break, it’s okay, too. As long as you love what you’re doing, that’s what matters! πŸ˜€

    Like

      • So I heard, I need to move it up on my TBR…when I’m ready for a story that will make me cry, haha!
        You’re welcome! And no worries about reviews piling up, just write about the books you want to write, and you don’t have to review every single one of them if you don’t feel like it (some advice I should take myself, haha) πŸ™‚

        Like

  4. LOL. My hiatus has been a fail. :3 I always find myself coming back to my blog (but that’s because I don’t like to get behind on book reviews and I don’t like composing them on Goodreads). Plus, I still need to review Me Before You!! And, oh my gosh, it makes me uber happy to see The Spectacular Now and Unwind on this list.

    Like

    • Ugh me too! My to-do book reviews are piling up super fast! Sometimes, I tend to review books months after I read it. Haha! Take your time in drafting the review πŸ˜€

      The Spectacular Now is amazing! I haven’t watched the movie though. I love how it’s an almost true reflection of high school

      Liked by 1 person

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

