Top 10 Tuesday #11: Books I Didn’t Expect To Be My Pet Peeve

 

Happy Tuesday, Booknerdigans!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme created by the ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish. This features all things book-related that one considers as personal best.

T10T

This week’s topic is supposed to be about books I didn’t expect I’d love that were out of my genre. YA is my comfort zone and while I attempt to read beyond this limitation, I seldom get to the end. Yeah, I’m not as adventurous as others are in reading. Maybe in time.

This week, I’m featuring a total opposite of the supposed topic and talk about books I expected to be my cup of tea but turned out otherwise.

 

The Grisha Trilogy
876497547993443d371ae5393e23805d


I usually go for fantasy genre and I thought this book is definitely for me eliminating the hype as a factor for my choice. It’s not that I despised it entirely but it just didn’t appeal to me as much as I expected it to be (I’m a little forgiving for Shadow and Bone). The unnecessary romance between Alina and every boy in the book just fed me up.

 

 

After You by Jojo Moyes635797385026424731-cover-after-you-9780525426592


I am (and will forever be) a colossal fan of Me Before You, the predecessor of After You and one that deserves a highlight in the literary chronicles of romance novels. This is what I (or “we” as a think many will agree) consider an unwarranted sequel. It’s not that it’s entirely horrible but Me Before You is already good in itself and it wrapped up exceedingly well. After You felt forced. 

 

Ashes to Ashes by Jenny Han and Vivien Siobhan
book-ashes

It wasn’t the entire book I hate but only how it concluded. I actually loved it, the trilogy even. The 3-page epilogue of Ashes to Ashes (the last installment) just ruined it for me. It’s unjustifiable and it came out of nowhere and.. and.. and.. alright I’ll stop for now before I blurt out some spoiler-filled hatred here.

 

 

If I Stay by Gayle Forman
81atbry7dxl

I don’t often loathe contemporaries because it’s my go-to genre after fantasy but THIS IS ONE BIG EXCEPTION.

 

 

 

 

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
9961796

Like I said, hating contemporaries isn’t my habit but sometimes, main characters get to the point where you get burned out, all other good stuff are eclipsed. Yes, I’m talking about you Lola and your crazy antics.

 

 

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
the_fault_in_our_stars

I know I’m mentioning “not hating contemporaries” for the nth time but here’s another exception. The story didn’t tug at my heartstrings just how I expected it to be. If truth be told, the movie was even better for me. 

 

 

 

 

The Maze Runner by James Dashner6186357

After reading Diverent Trilogy, I thought this was going to be another spectacular read but we don’t get all our dreams in real life, yes? My biggest issue on this book is that the main intent of the dystopian setting was unclear. The purpose of getting trapped and running all the way to the third installment wasn’t purposeful. 

 

 

 

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
lostsymbol

I love every Dan Brown novel because it opens you to a realm of mystery that’s fictional but simultaneously tinged with truth. It’s like studying your history but in a more interesting sense. The Lost Symbol wasn’t entirely an exception but when you’ve followed every story of Robert Langdon (every Dan Brown novel actually) and you get the exact same plot twist, you don’t get as enthusiastic anymore.

 

 

I’ll stop at 8 for now. Chao!


Let’s connect: TwitterGoodreadsPinterestInstagram Email

 

13 comments

  1. Oh goodie, I felt the same way about The Lost Symbol (and Inferno, really). I bought a hardcover as soon as it came out and I DNF’d it halfway through. I was annoyed I spent a lot of money for it! XD
    And uggggh Ashes to Ashes has the worst epilogue in the universe. It really brought out my inner monster, I wanted to rip the book apart except it’s a library copy so I cannot. I’m sorry the Grisha trilogy and Maze Runner didn’t work for you! Also, After You??? Really??? 😮 I haven’t read the books yet but I know Me Before You is your favourite. 😮

    Like

  2. I read Just One Day by Gayle Foreman and couldn’t stand it. I’ve sworn off her books forever now. I totally agree with Lola though. She drove me insane. I’ve only read on John Green book but I also didn’t like it. We have similar tastes in books! Great list!
    My TTT

    Like

  3. The only book on your list that I’ve read is TFIOS and yeah.. it wasn’t as good as many people claimed it to be.
    I could totally relate with how epilogue could ruin a perfectly good series. You’re ready for closure and BAM those things came out of nowhere.
    I’m quite surprised you didn’t like Lola. I have read Anna and I loved it, but never continue with Lola because someone (perhaps my sister) thought it was nowhere as good as Anna, but everyone else seemed to like it. Each to their own I guess.

    Like

  4. The Maze Runner has been sitting on my shelf for at least a year now and I just don’t know if I’ll ever be in the mood to read it. I’ve kind of moved away from reading dystopia and with all the mixed/negative reviews I’ve heard about the series I can’t see myself reading it anytime soon.

    Like

  5. I felt exactly the same when I read the Maze Runner, and everyone around seemed to love it so much, I thought I was just missing something at the time. It was still interesting and I loved the characters, but the whole backstory was lacking a bit. You made me super scared about Shadow and Bone, though ! There’s nothing I hate more than unnecessary romance …

    Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

