Book Blabber #1: The Pros and Cons of Reading a Hyped-up Book

Boy, I’m almost on my 2nd year of blogging! I feel like I should step my game up in a form of engaging in more in-depth discussions and making one myself. I’m not the most convincing person but I’d like to try.

This 2016, I’m introducing a new shtick on my blog which I’d like to call, Book Blabber. Yep! That title because 1.) I like the consonance effect of the B sounds on Books and Blabber and 2.) I won’t fool you into thinking I’m an expert on what I’ll talk about. These are purely thought- and observation-based so there, just blabber!

1454165092706

I’ve been thinking through and through of what to talk about and I’ve come up with something that came across while holding Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas. Ding! *light bulb on for the perfect drama* Let’s talk about the hype surrounding books, its pros and cons.

 

 

POLL PERIOD! Any bookworm/ book blogger (hard-core readers are the limit) here who hasn’t ever in his/her entire reading career tried a book solely due to hype? I sentence you to death for your dishonesty because let’s face it, it’s a culture.

Browse on your twitter feed and tell me you didn’t think of wanting your own copy of Passenger or Glass Sword. Tell me you didn’t just drain your wallet after blog-hopping on several Top 10 Tuesday post. I’m exaggerating but well, you, human, get the point, yeah?

While it isn’t an utterly bad thing to base your preference on the latest town talk, there can be pitfalls too. Let me start blabbering.


– The PROS –

(some) Books really do warrant the hype

Let’s admit some books with incredibly huge craze are certainly worth the hype. Readers didn’t just party for the birth of a bunch of crap. They can be reliable especially if it’s recommended by someone with a vast experience in reading.

7407741

 

Allow me to share a brief story. I read The Infernal Devices long before I was into blogging. Let me tell you that these kinds of books do not get the hard-core-HP-fans sort of audiences in my country and thus, I had no idea the rest of the world is raving about it. Even without the knowledge that this series is a celebrity, I found it fantastic that I started shoving it to everyone. My point is a reader doesn’t just rattle on how good a book is because others are doing it but because they found it to their liking and that they think it merits such honor.

You get a pass on the latest hot club

Person A: *posts a twit pic of Truthwitch*
Person B: *hits the tiny heart button on Person A’s post and tweets back* OMG! I love this book to bits! Gaah I can’t even…
Person A: Right??! Let’s hype it up some more!
Person C: Oh wow! Is it so good?
Person A & B: *squeals* JOIN THE CLUB!

10252520drake252520club

Reading Susan Denard’s book or whatever’s currently shelved on the rave department is definitely your ticket to Hollywood. You can relate on what everyone’s gushing about and who they’re crushing on and why it’s a hit or a miss and whatnot.

In Mean Girls lingo, “That is so fetch!”

My description is sort of satirical but wait, let me point out the good that comes out of here. Reading a hyped up books – which many have read, duh! – is an opportunity to interface with other book devourers, revel in a gabfest, and maybe plant new friendship seedlings. If you’re a social butterfly, this is your window.

Your blog gets an insane amount of traffic

While getting a congested blog traffic isn’t everybody’s primary goal (to some, it is), don’t be naive and pronounce it’s not one of your objectives. Out of a couple of reasons, we blog because we wanted to be heard.

why-traffic-jams-happen_784

Posting your review on a book with an incredibly insane hype gets more comments, likes, views, retweets, etc. relative to one not popularly read. This happens too when you’re one of the firsts to write about a book that’s been awaited by many for so long. Yes, I’m talking about ARCs. Notice how people swarm your blog upon posting an ARC, one that many regrettably weren’t granted.

There’s nothing hateful about this concept personally. However, if you even go to the extent of filtering what you read to just the hyped-up ones, withdrawing all other factors you considered on book preferences prior, then someone better review his/her blogging objectives.


– The CONS –

You’re pressured to have the same perspective as them

There’s no mandated law or written requirement or whatever demanding you to like Celaena Sardothien as much as the others did but at some points, you feel compelled to, otherwise you don’t get the perks to Hollywood abovementioned.

I-dont-get-it-GIF.gif

Having an unpopular opinion towards a hyped-up book can be a massive struggle. While we are all entitled to our own opinions, your human portion tells you to be a bit gentle on your review out of respect for others who liked the book. I’m speaking in general, okay? Similarly, secretly loving a book you know loathed by the rest is complicated. When you see them “bad-mouthing” about it and ranting on extremely long paragraphs, you can’t cut in the conversation and insert your rebuttal.

All I’m saying is, to each his/her own… erm, supposedly.

You may have a colossal regret on squandered money

I have had my own fair shares of experiences of rushing to buy a particular book currently in vogue and on some of those times, I felt contrite for falling for the hype.

dr-who

For many of us who splurge on books more than non-bookish people can ever comprehend, a piece or two of such regarded not worth the expense may be insignificant (for some). However, if you sum up all books bought meeting the same doom, you might have enough to pay for a college semester! Well, this isn’t to say all hyped-up books end up a similar fate but there could be at least a few on your entire reading career. Note that what’s appealing for Martha may not be for John.

You’re missing out on a lot of unpopular good books

On your book case, there are always these books that are shelved longer than the dawn of mankind. Guilty? We all are. They’ve been sitting there forever gathering the thickest heap of dust.

tumblr_mxrou7ujfc1rxi9lno1_500

Because you are zeroed in on what’s on the mainstream, these books are plonked on the rear end of your TBR queue. There is/ may be a valid reason for hyped-up books to be put on a pedestal but there’s an even bigger number of good books outside that circle left undiscovered. Says the one who seldom leaves her YA comfort zone! But no seriously, I’m certain there are and they’re worth the spotlight too.


 

I have nothing against books with a ridiculous hype – in fact, I enjoyed scores of them too – but this 2016, I vowed not to base my preference on it exclusively. 

… but I’m still reading Lady Midnight. 


 

Like I said, to each his or her own so I’d like to hear your own thoughts on this:

  1. What do you think of hyped-up books?
  2. What are the popular books that hit or missed it for you? 
  3. Do you base your preference on the craze?

Thank you for reading!

Best,

1381824170132815300116


Let’s connect:  TwitterGoodreadsPinterestInstagramEmail

36 comments

  1. A really interesting discussion with valid Pros and Cons. Generally I have had a good experience with hyped books except for a few that I didn’t enjoy whilst everyone else loved them – If I Stay and All The Bright Places. I look forward to more of these discussion posts. Well done!

    Like

    • I have to admit I did have a fair share of experiences with hyped-up books. They are applauded for a reason. OMG we’ll totally click on If I Stay. That was a really deceptive hype. All the Bright Places was okay for me though not exactly what I expected given the pedestal it was put into. Thank you so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel exactly the same as you do! I think in some cases, it can be a really good thing, and I’m not sure if I would have read some of my favourite books if not for the hype! I also like discussing opinions on books, so if I have a different opinion to someone on a popular book, it can be fun to exchange opinions! If everyone has read a book, it means you can discuss more freely (and with spoilers!). I also get waay more traffic if I post a review of a popular book…

    Though I don’t like how some people can be so defensive! Some people are really mean if you don’t like their favourite book, which is wrong. It can also get a bit too repetitive when everyone is talking about and reviewing the same book!!

    Awesome discussion post, Trisha – thanks for sharing! I hope you do more, because I really enjoyed this one 🙂
    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Like

    • Honestly, most of what I read last year are because of the hype. I tend to put off reading those books I was supposed to read because there’s one acclaimed by a lot to be so good. Charge me guilty of this! Haha!

      You were right about that spoiler thing. What a good feeling it is to talk about your favorite books with others without filtering what you say or feeling sorry you have slipped and spilled a spoiler.

      People can be mean at times and I hate how they shove their opinions to you. Am I not entitled to my own? Yes you are but please don’t expect others to agree completely on what you said. I feel you ont this!

      Thank you so much! I feel motivated to start another discussion post 🙂

      Like

  3. Amazing discussion post! 😀 While there are a lot of pros, one of the cons in reading hype books for me is spoilers. I couldn’t find the excitement and gripping effect I should have reading The Hunger Games just because I’ve already know the ending. But the pros are great! Getting all fangirl/boy with someone is incredible. ❤ Great post!!

    Like

    • Spoilers are the worst. I mean, please respect the right of others who haven’t read yet to have a good dose of excitement and disappointment on the book. I’m sorry about you getting spoiled on The Hunger Games but for whatever it’s worth, I got spoiled at All the Bright Places as well. *sigh*

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this post, Trisha!
    In the past, most of the books I read are hyped-up books because those are the only books I’ve ever heard about. As one might expect, it often didn’t end well. lol. Being in the book blogging community and GR allow me to handpick a couple of reviewers that have similar taste with mine and I’m able to be more selective with my book buying.
    For 2015, some hyped-up books that I really like are Six of Crows, Carry On, and Illuminae. The not so succesful ones are Red Queen (I tried) and Queen of Shadows (I liked it but didn’t love it). I have to admit that even if I didn’t like the book, I still try to soften the blows mostly because I cannot bear the thought of slaughtering a book, but sometimes because I know someone or many people who like the book and I don’t want to rain on their parade.
    Agreed with your opinion about more traffic. It’s nice to have those, but to review only hyped-up books to get more visitors is kind of missing one important benefit of book blogging, which is to be exposed to less popular books.

    Like

    • Thank you for relating, Windie!

      I have to admit I still read hyped books and despite of the many times I get disappointed, I still do the same. What can I say, I’m a masochist. I will heed that advice of yours to find a community in GR which has the same taste in books as I do.

      Ahh I’m torturing myself again with Glass Sword. It was harder to get through this time compared to Red Queen! Ugh. I stopped with Crown of Midnight. I heard Heir of Fire was one of the bests but I still couldn’t get past through the first chapters.

      That is a good point you raised. Getting traffic is a reason but more than that, it has to be to expand your reading environment. Well, maybe others don’t just miss that point but rather they’re point is beyond that.

      Liked by 1 person

      • No worries. We are all masochists when it comes to hyped books. lol.
        Ha. I liked Heir of Fire, but it took a totally different direction with Crown at Midnight so it was kind of hard to get into because all of the characters (except Celaena) are new. It was almost like reading a different series!
        Ahh, lemme know if you ever get through Glass Sword. I haven’t decided whethere it’s worth reading or not. Don’t force yourself to read it though. :p

        Like

      • Ahh yes. HoF has sort of been an entirely different series. It’s sort of kinda hard to get into because it’s like getting acquainted to a whole new different fantasy. I tried it the second time last month but I kept putting it down so maybe next time. Haha!

        I’m reading Glass Sword now and I’m a quarter through. It has become more difficult to get into compared to Red Queen. Mare has lots of issues and her thoughts are becoming annoying! LOL It’s just me probably though. Others did enjoy it 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, sometimes the hype led to good things and sometimes it lets us downn but it’s something that’s always going to be there. But I think for me, I’ll read a book if I really want to, even if it’s hyped or not. But yeah, when everybody’s raving about a particular book, you immediately want to participate in that discussion as well but unfortunately I can’t afford new books, I mean I can after a few months passes but not immediately because the prices are seriously too high and I’m a student witha part time job which allows me to buy 2-3 books per month. So yeah… that might be the bit of a reason I have so low traffic but well, I don’t really care about that because I started blogging to share my thoughts and well I’m loving it so far. I LOVED this post, Trisha. Great discussion!

    Like

    • Right??! It’s crazy how these books are priced so mighty high when they’re just released and suddenly dwindle a few months! The advantages of buying at a later period are you get a cheaper book and the hype died down a little you can enjoy your book in peace. Haha!

      Yes, that was one heck of a good point. Who cares about traffic when that’s not even your goal?

      And thank you, Poulami! 😀

      Like

  6. Lol! Yea, I think we all have succumbed to hype a few times even if we aren’t aware of it. My con is that I judge the hype book harder than I would otherwise because the hype makes me believe it will be unbelievably awesome.

    Like

  7. Agree with you in the cons and pros. Other con is that is more possible to read spoilers, and then maybe if you know what happens you won’t read it!
    As you said, I’ve nothing against hyped books, and I have to read Truthwitch, Passenger and others that have been with all the hype lately but I love discovering ‘not-that-known-gems’ aka books haha 😀

    Like

  8. This is such a great subject, I’ve been wanting to write about this for months, and everyone is ahead of me hahaha :p I agree that the hype has its pros and cons. It made me discover such INCREDIBLE books, and I’m so happy for that. But like you said, it can be tricky, too, and pressurizing. What if I don’t like this hyped book, will I be rejected or something like that?! And what are we all missing out, by just following the books that have HYPE written all around them? That’s kind of crazy!
    Great topic! 🙂

    Like

  9. That was such a great discussion post and I agree on everything you said. Hyped books are difficult, because sometimes you just don’t feel as much for it as others and then it can escalate on the interwebs, but my main regret is mostly the money in those cases hahaha
    I am not sure how hyped these books really were, but I was quite disappointed by The Next Together and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. I don’t know if the book really wasn’t that great or if my expectations were simply too high. In the end I just try and take a step back, maybe not read it when everyone else does.

    Like

    • The money! YES! I silently weep over wasted cash and time on not-so-good books. My only consolation is well, at least I’m feeding my bookshelf. Haha!

      I haven’t read Me and Ear and the Dying Girl but I remembered how crazy people were over that book. I do that too, reading a book when the hype died down a little. In that way, you get your expectations on it clean.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Ahahaha great post, Trisha Ann! Such valid pros and cons – for me, the biggest pro is yeah being able to relate to other people about the book! But the pressure to have the same view is definitely overwhelming – I’m reading Passenger by Alex Bracken right now, and I don’t know if I feel the same way about it as other people!
    Geraldine @ Corralling Books

    Like

    • I say don’t be afraid to tell how you feel about Passenger! If you have to bitch about it on your review, do so! I’m just against those people who attack others’ reviews just because they have different opinions. We are all entitled to ours. Thank you Geraldine! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  11. YAY for your first discussion post, Trisha! I have to say that it’s likely you’ll be beating me at producing these. I’ve had a really bad blogging slump when it comes to making discussion posts. I have like 10 drafts in the queue. Some are completely thought through and completed, but I just feel like they’re all topics that have been talked about before so I’ve been hesitant on publishing them. But anyway, I totally agree with your Pros! Fangirling over a common book is the best feeling. Plus more hype means bigger fandom=more people I can fangirl with. The Cons you mentioned don’t really apply to me that often. I buy all my books ridiculously cheap so I don’t feel that terrible when I don’t like the book. However, YES if it was a full price purchase. I’m bracing myself for Soundless actually. I love Richelle Mead but the GR reviews thus far have been awful. I kind of WANT to be the black sheep with that one.

    Like

    • I’m not really sure about that one – that beating you at producing discussion posts. Haha! It’s really hard to think of a topic! I feel like everything else has been exhausted already so I feel you about having hesitations on posting your blog posts. But seriously, I say you post it. You might have similar topics as the others but you have different contents and thoughts, yeah? I will try my best to make discussion posts a regular. 😀

      Ahh yes. The good thing about buying a book at a full price is you get motivated to read it. LOL. And you’re right about how Soundless is so ridiculously expensive! The cover’s kind of deceptive though. I say be the black sheep and go be honest about how you though about it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  12. LOL I love how you’re like “lmao but lady midnight” after all that. Hype is definitely a double-edged sword, and it’s always going to be there: we’re always going to see the next big hit, and like the society we’re in, there are bound to be two sides of the coin. I usually find myself picking up hyped book because other people’s excitement gets ME excited to read about it, y’know? And even if it turns out bad (for me), at least I know what it’s like! Then I can still join in on conversations about the book, even if I don’t like it (BAHAHA I tend to have “friendly” discussions with friends about them.) But yeah, I’m totally for hyped books. What’s there to lose? If I hate it, at least it’ll make for an interesting and amusing review that’ll get a laugh out of someone. (Also love that snorlax gif omg – perfection)

    Like

    • Charge me guilty! Reading hyped books might be a religion for me for a long while. Haha!

      You are right about that, Aila. There’s basically nothing to lose about reading these kinds of books. Well, aside from time and money though but at least you’ve fed yourself something. After all, disappointing hyped books aren’t outright worst. There’s always a good thing about a book.

      I love reading reviews that are basically bitching about. More than hate the book itself, I crack up on their thoughts. Haha! (Thank you to some creative human from somewhere across the globe for that snorlax gif LOL)

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Love this post! For me, hype plays very little in determining what I choose next–however, it does mean that I hear about the book more often and am probably more aware of it, so I’m likelier to read it.

    I think the ratio of hit/miss hyped books for me is about 50/50. I didn’t much enjoy Throne of Glass and Red Queen, for example, but really quite enjoyed The Wrath and The Dawn.

    Like

    • Wow! I envy you on that skill of not considering the hype a lot in book selection. Share me your powers! 😀

      I feel you on Throne of Glass and Red Queen. I can’t seem to get past Heir of Fire! And Red Queen, oh no I’m torturing myself again because I’m reading Glass Sword now. D:

      Like

  14. Congrats on your first discussion post! Hype, like Aila mentioned above, is a double-edge sword, and I always seem to get nicked by it. The books I picked mainly due to hype never came close to my expectations. They were not necessarily bad, but they were nowhere near as great as I imagined them to be. Amen to the pros, esp blog traffic. And I agree about money, it frustrates me to no end when I look at my bookshelf and I see books that I bought that I don’t like! I feel cheated, lol.
    With regards to perspective though, I think that its akin to peer pressure. I have posted not so stellar reviews for popular titles like Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Truthwitch, and I always brace myself for the backlash (which did not happen, thankfully!). It does make you hesitate to publish a review different from the rest because you’d be an outsider.
    Love this post! You must make mooooore 😀

    Like

    • Thank you, Joan! To start a discussion post is one thing and to make it a regular post is an entirely different struggle. Haha! You and the others are seriously doing well on this 😀

      When I think about it, reading hyped books later when people were no longer raving about it is a lot better. Say for example, Cinders. I really loved that book and I think I wouldn’t if I read it back when people were still crazy over it. I’m talking in general. There are times the hype is still deceptive no matter when you read the book LOL.

      OMG I have to read your review on Truthwitch. Gotta get on that one! 😀

      Like

  15. Congratulations on getting your first discussion post out there in the blogosphere. I’m so glad I came across this post because all of these are my feels. I almost feel like a bad book blogger when I have no clue about any of the currently popular book trends because I tend to block out the hype. However, I’ve been burned before… repeatedly. I think hyped-up books themselves (and, similarly, the people who hype them up) are fine. Those people truly loved that book. I get that. I am part of that crowd more often than not. I just sort of hate the preconceived notion our society has that just because A LOT of people like the thing it must be good.

    My recent misses were Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (and Eleanor & Park) and The Mortal Instruments… Just… Couldn’t do the thing. I will admit, though, that I caved and recently bought Passenger by Alexander Bracken from HPB because it’s pretty and I saw it literally EVERYWHERE. We’ll see how that goes.

    Great discussion topic!

    Like

    • Thank you for relating! I still read hyped-up books and in fact, I’m reading one now (Glass Sword). I will eventually get fed up and switch to books that I really prefer reading discard hype as the factor.

      You’re right about what you say about books that are liked by a lot should be liked by everybody else. I mean, to each his or her own, yeah? Please respect our opinions.

      I hope you’ll love Passenger. I haven’t read that one yet but I’m doing so one of these days. I heard it’s a great one but yeah, just be honest and “brave” about your review on it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

