Top 10 Tuesday #7: New TBR Additions

 

Happy Tuesday, Booknerdigans!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme created by the ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish. This features all things book-related that one considers as personal best.

1448881368010

This week’s topic is about recently added books on the TBR pile. I haven’t even exhausted my the very long queue of books I had to read in 2015 but being the royal procrastinator that I am, those books would sadly spend more time in the shelf. This 2016, there are a lot of new releases I badly want to get my hands on which I will feature here. Also, I have a ton of books added from other bloggers’ positive testimony.  

 

Truthwitch by Susan Dennardtumblr_o0wvvjv2vo1qgogqwo1_540

Reason for adding: THE SIX-OF-CROWS-LIKE HYPE (Just saying I’m curious)

 

 

 

 

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
9781250056979


Jenna’s (@ Reading with Jenna) ravings on The Winner’s Crime is highly infectious. I badly want to read a book that would leave me a strong feeling of devastation, happiness, elation or whatever. I JUST NEED A BOOK THAT STANDS OUT PLEASE. I have a feeling this is it.

 

 

 

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
20983362

This book has a promising overview. The violinist lead reminds me of Jem Carstairs. I still have a lot of pending book series to finish but it won’t hurt adding something more, yeah? Plus, its Goodreads rating is booming. I just hope this is as good as it is marketed to be. 

 

 

 

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
prideprejudice423x630

Yes. I’m starting to avoid cringing away from classics. I recently read Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald and this classic story was mentioned like a hundred times.. more like Mr. Darcy only, actually. I acquired an audio book of this which, gods help me, I hope I wouldn’t doze off at. 

 

 

 

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
aristotle-and-dante-discover-the-secrets-of-the-universe

The cover speaks to be read. I love it! The graphics, the font, and all. I don’t know about you but covers actually make a factor for me in considering a book. More than that, the themes this book contains seemed new and powerful. 

 

 

 

 

The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp
spectacular-now-book-cover

This was adapted into a movie in 2013.  I’m not that big of a fan of Shailene Woodly and Miles Teller but I loved them in Divergent. My positive thoughts on the movie, The Spectacular Now, exceeded the opposite. And well, since generally books are better than movies, I’m going to try the printed words. 

 

 

 

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
a-thousand-pieces-of-you

This book never stops showing anywhere. I frequently see it on WordPress posts, on Twitter, on Instagram, and a lot on Goodreads. Like it manifests a sign for me to go and finally pick it up. I know I resolved not to read the book with hype as the sheer reason, but I just feel it’s more than what the craze expresses. 

 

 

 

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
7b00006440-1b1e-40a1-8ed0-1c048b99a3fa7dimg400

I will read this book after I go to the cinema to see it next week. Sometimes, movies can be an indicator if a book deserves to be picked up. 

 

 

 

 

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
816gr5kqlel

The first book wasn’t an outright hit for me (though there were still forgivable points that compensated) but who am I not to give second chances? Victoria Aveyard, you have the second book to redeem yourself. 

 

 

 

 

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
26073150

I haven’t read ACOTAR and already I’m adding this on my TBR. What is on my mind?? The book resting on my shelf will be turning 1 soon. Maybe when ACOMAF is released, I will be propelled to get my nose on this book. 

 

 

 


Follow me: TwitterGoodreadsPinterestInstagram Email

 

50 comments

  1. I have yet to read ACOTAR but from what I’ve heard of S. J . Mass’s writing I’m sure it will be good (I have yet to start the ToG series).

    Hope you like Pride and Prejudice! It’s one of my favorites. Then again I grew up reading classics so if you are not a big fan of that I’m not sure you’ll like it.

    Like

  2. I was never really into classics, but I liked pride and prejudice :), good luck with that one. Aristotle and Dante is great, though I liked Simon Vs better, it’s such an amazing coming of age story. btw… you have to read ACOTAR… it’s worth it.

    Like

    • I have finished Pride and Prejudice and I have to agree with you. It’s likable indeed!

      Aristotle and Dante’s cover really enticed me but I didn’t know it has a story resembling Simon VS! Now I’m intrigued!

      And yes, I will get to ACOTAR (when people are already gushing about ACOMAF lol) soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. YAAS TRISHA, so many great books added to your TBR!
    Okay so Red Queen didn’t make an impression on me, and Glass Sword remained the same. No doubt Aveyard’s writing is striking, but I had certain problems. Either way, I do hope you enjoy when it comes out! YOU MUST READ TRUTHWITCH THO. AND PASSENGER. AND WINNER’S CURSE EEee I’m so excited for you to read these. And Pride and Prejudice had writing that was hard to get into (at least for me), but the story was sweet. The Spectacular Now book had a surprisingly different ending than the movie! So hopefully it’s a pleasant surprise for you (it was quite bittersweet for me, I find.)

    Like

    • Oh man! I just bought Glass Sword (and I mean like yesterday)! I’m starting on the first few chapters and gaaah I missed Mare’s neigh LOL.

      Yesss! I actually had a hard time choosing which to read first, Truthwitch or Glass Sword and I ended up with the latter. Oh well, save the best for last!

      Really?? Now you got me really excited on The Spectacular Now! It’s been right there on my bookshelf for months now and I didn’t even bother opening it. I’m excited for that pleasant surprise!

      Like

  4. Such a great list! Aristotle and Dante was so good, I hope you’ll like it! Ten Thousand pieces of You was quite great, too, I loved the concept. I didn’t love The 5th Wave as much as everyone else seems to have, but it’s still an entertaining read! 🙂 The Spectacular Now was heart-broken-ly realistic. I liked it a lot! Great list 😀

    Like

  5. I am still kicking myself for not Truthwitch and Passenger before I went on this self-imposed book buying ban. The hype surrounding these two books is unreal so I definitely feel like I need to get my hands on them. I’m told that The Winner’s Trilogy is an emotional rollercoaster so I’m glad I’ve waited until the release of the third book was near to read them. I hope you enjoy the books.

    Like

    • Book buying ban?? You are torturing yourself, girl! Good luck with that! But on a good note, you are an inspiration! *wink*

      Ever since November 2015 kicked in, the hype on these 2 books is just ridiculous! I’m excited to read it and I hope they won’t disappoint! And I’m glad you enjoyed The Winner’s Trilogy!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ahh now I get their reference about Mr. Darcy! I just finished it and I’m about to see who he is on movies!
      You should tell me when you get to The Winner’s Curse so we can perhaps read it together if possible 🙂

      Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

