Top 10 Tuesday #6: 2016 Is the Year I Finish These Books

 

Happy Tuesday, Booknerdigans!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme created by the ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish. This features all things book-related that one considers as personal best.

1448881368010

This week’s topic is about bookish resolutions. I have already created a book tag discussing my 2016 resolutions but since this is the first entry of the year, I won’t let this post slip by. I will, however, make it slightly diverse from it in such, I will talk about BOOKS I RESOLVE TO FINISH THIS YEAR. I have started a page or more or a chapter of all these books but put them down for some reasons. 

 

Life of Pi by Yann Martel4214


My friend gave this book to me for my 18th birthday. Five years and a heaping volume of dust collected later, it’s still on my shelf begging to be read. It’s time to show some mercy.

 

 

 

Crazy Rich Asians 16085481


Font size 10. Spacing less than 1.0 (if that’s even readable). Plus a booming 500+ page volume. Seriously, nothing about this book intimidates me. NO SARCASM. But Jeann @ Happy Indulgence was crazy about this book and I know I should give it a try because it holds a very interesting abstract.

 

 

1984 by George Orwell1984-book9

I started an audio book version of this but.. well, I dozed off after a few babbling.

 

 

 

 

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee715vlp6m-ol

Are you kidding me, Trish?? You haven’t read the best classics of all time?? Apparently, my relationship with them is still being worked out.

 

 

 

 

The Pelican Brief by John Grisham32499

After reading The Firm..
Me: Oh gosh! My adrenaline’s pumping for more John Grisham! *opens up The Pelican Brief right after*
5 pages later..
*flips back to page 1. Reread. flips back to page 1 again. Reread. Stops*

 

 

 

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynnbookcover-sharpobjects-02

I solemnly pledge to read more Gillian Flynn books this 2016.

 

 

 

 

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak51eqvanusnl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Not the most conspicuous thing about me but I love World War-related novels hence me buying The Book Thief. I heard thoughtful things about it enough for me to pursue it but the writing wasn’t just for me… yet? Maybe the next try will be better.

 

 

 

Attachments by Rainbow Rowellbook

With all due respect, Miss Rainbow Rowell. I have great veneration to your writing prowess as evidenced by my high GR ratings on your Eleanor & Park and others. What happened to Attachments?

 

 

 

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas20613470

Crown of Midnight was superb and I heard Heir of Fire was the bomb. When I started it, it didn’t pick off where I was expecting it to be. Static at its best. I decided to have a TOG slump for a while and wait for someone to buddy read it with me.

 

 

Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordanpercybattlelabyrinth

Don’t give me that look. I have my reasons for not picking up the fourth installment. 1.) I would have enjoyed it more 8 years ago (Fine. That was a lousy excuse). 1.) After You and Carry On was released the time I read it so I set it aside.

 

 

 


Let’s connect: TwitterGoodreadsPinterestInstagram Email

 

23 comments

  1. I hope you get to and enjoy these books in 2016!! I love Heir of Fire, and the Book Thief. To Kill A Mockingbird!!! *gasp* Do you not read a lot of classics? (It’s okay, neither do I. That’s one of the only classics I’ve read. But it’s GOOD!) I hope you have a wonderful 2016.

    Like

    • Thank you! I’m still seeking inspiration to pursue these books! I will take your word on To Kill a Mockingbird. I only read classics in school only because they’re required but I hope to find a way to like them. Hoping you a fantastic year too! 😀

      Like

  2. OMG. Attachments is my absolute favorite Rainbow Rowell book! You have tO read it ASAP!

    I’m also planning on reading 1984 this year. I can’t believe that I have an English degree and that I still haven’t read it.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

    • The first pages bored me but I’m still considering to read it since this is also how I felt with Carry On.
      Ahh yes. Most English degree holders are expected to have read all the classics. We have 2016 to do so with 1984 though. Happy reading!

      Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

