Top 10 Tuesday: YA Books I Read in 2015 That Are a Cut Above the Rest

Happy Tuesday, Booknerdigans!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme created by the ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish. This features all things book-related that one considers as personal best.

1448881368010

This week’s topic is about the best *insert list title*books of 2015. I keep track of books I read via Goodreads (thank god for such life hacks!). Just by looking, no computation whatsoever, Young Adult books seem to dominate the list. Ninety percent, tops! Hence, I opt to choose this list … (as I’m pretty sure many others would too).

 


YA Fantasy

1. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

688ed-1429820340604Baz and Simon are walking truth to being awesome couples! It took me ounces of patience to get by page by page (the first ones were a real impediment! Simon’s not the best narrator) but I’m glad I didn’t give up on it.

 

2. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

10194157I now get the hype on this book! It wasn’t all for nothing, thank heavens! But then again, here’s another book promising hard core fantasy turning out to be something outshined by romance.

 

3. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

171671661I was halfway bored in Throne of Glass. Fight here, kiss there, fight some more, kiss some more. Ugh but no seriously, Crown of Midnight was an absolute step up from ToG. #ChaolWestfall5ever

 

4. Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

percy-jackson-and-the-olympians-lightning-thief2Talk about the last to join the PJO party. Rick Riordan is an absolute master of blasphemy! I probably would have love this immensely more if I read this as a child but still.

 

5. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

17878931WAIT, AM I REALLY SERIOUS ABOUT INCLUDING THIS ON MY LIST?! Fine. Well despite the multiple setbacks I encountered on this book, I still get to the end and that’s a milestone, yeah? I’m hoping Aveyard levelled up her game on Glass Sword.

 


YA Fiction

6. Summer Trilogy by Jenny Han

5821978Jenny Han wrote about Belly, an obnoxious, egocentric, narrow-minded adolescent who thinks her petty problems are way bigger than the hurdles of global malnutrition. Annoying as it seemed, there’s not just a grain of truth to this as we underwent through the same phase, yes? How is Han great at blasting us with nostalgia?

 

7. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

anna-and-the-french-kiss-stephanie-perkinsEverything about this book screams FLUFFFYYYY. It’s actually a dream of mine to go live in the City of LIghts and get a first-hand try on French living. This is probably the reason why I’m hooked to this book so much.

 

8. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

all-the-bright-placesThe hype surrounding this book was just so ridiculously high my expectations were shattered though. Tugged at the heartstrings? Yes. Episodes of bawling out? Not for me though. BUUUUT The saving grace on this book for me is Finch. The adorably complex witty Finch.

 

9. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431Good novel for a debut author. I had multiple issues on this but still I love it for the reading ease it gave. Plus, the doodles on some pages made by the husband were on point!

 

 10. P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

p-s-i-still-love-you-9781442426733_hrJenny Han again? Well I can’t help it.Her writing is my therapy. This is the sequel to To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and as I was turning the last page, I was whole-heartedly hoping for a chance this might become a trilogy. Alas, it’s over.


 

TWITTER @thebookgasm|  GOODREADS @ Trisha Ann

21 comments

  1. I’m a little surprise to see Red Queen on this list. lol. But I totally understand where you’re going with this. I think we rage so hard because we recognize the potential of Aveyard’s writing but she played it too safe. C’mon Victoria you can do it!
    Hahaha yes CoM is better than ToG. By the way, did you manage to get through heir of fire?

    Like

    • You’re right! And actually, of all the YA fantasies I read this year, Red Queen’s already considerably good though I had a lot of major issues with it. Glass Sword’s release is just close! *fingers crossed*

      I haven’t gone through HoF yet. I’m planning to read it with another blogger some time this December 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • *whispers* read six of crows xD
        I’m the same with you there in rating red queen quite higher than other YA fantasy although perhaps for different reason. The majority of my favorite fantasy books this year qualified as adult and not YA. How did this happen? lol.
        Cool, hope you enjoy it.:)

        Like

      • Yes yes I’m getting there! I’m halfway done with Siege and Storm. I heard Six of Crows is way better I can’t wait to get my hands on it!
        Oh cool! I’m not really into adult stuff but that’s my goal this 2016. To diversify my genre preferences. Sanderson, as you suggested on T10T, will be on my top list!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I adored Carry on too! It took me a little while to get into, and I think the first book dragged a little bit, but once Baz arrived, I was loving every moment. I really need to get to Anna and the French Kiss now – I’ve heard so many great things about it!

    Great list, Trisha – thank-you so much for sharing 🙂
    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Like

    • Ahh yes that’s what I felt too! I was on the verge of putting it down until Baz came into picture. Honestly, Simon needs to improve his narrating skills LOL.
      If you’re into some light, fluffy, contemporary read, Anna and the French Kiss is the book for you 🙂

      Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

