Top 10 Tuesday #4: 2015 Kickass (New-to-me) Authors

Happy Tuesday, Booknerdigans!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme created by the ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish. This features all things book-related that one considers as personal best.

1448881368010

This week’s topic is abou favorite 2015 new-to-me authors. Most of what you’ll see here have already existed long before fire was ever created by mankind. Kidding. Giving birth to my blog this year likewise introduced me to these awesome authors I never knew thrived on the face of the earth. No judging.

1.Jojo Moyes

The best, most life- and game-changing 2015 book for me was written by this author called Jojo Moyes. No seriously I looked at reality in a different light after this book. If you’re planning to read this, don’t trust the hype. Just. Damn. Read. 

2. Patrick Ness

My first of Ness’s, A Monster Calls, was plainly the appetizer one needs to get on the main course. Palatable with bits of emotional punch on the side. 

3. Sarah J. Maas

I stepped into the realms of book blogging astonished by how much hype this Maas gal gets. I mean, I have no idea who she is acclaimed to be the next big star in YA-dom. I tried her Throne of Glass series and though I’m not the biggest fan, it was bearable.. and um, good. 

4. Jennifer Niven

Her writing style is what sold me. She banged the crowd with All the Bright Places, her debut YA. The promise of this making me bawl out ugly tears wasn’t realized but that doesn’t mean I loathed it. Well, it’s just that Jojo Moyes’s Me Before You remains the A-1 on books with such genre for me. 

5. John Grisham

I know he’s a veteran in the field of writing and I’m certain he knows what he’s putting into paper being a legal eagle himself. It’s just that books where pages are overly occupied with words are not my cup of tea. But well my first of his, The Firm, debunked all that.

6. Leigh Bardugo

Let me just clear things up. Leigh Bardugo is a celebrated author, a singer, and a make-up artist in Hollywood, a fantasy dream builder and crasher. What can’t she do?! Oh I forgot. She’s a Yale graduate too. Pfft. No big deal!

7. Jenny Han

Clearly, Jenny Han’s way past the adolescent phase already but her novels reveal otherwise. They’re just within close quarters with what exactly transpires in high school! I have a theory she kept a journal of everything she went through in her teen years or she just has the biggest memory bank.

8. Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins’ name conjures cloud nines and chocolates and fancy unicorn and sugar (heaps of them) and stuffed animals and warm hugs and paradise and heavenly pastry and.. When fantasy books get taxing on the head, her books are sort of therapeutic.

9. Sarah Dessen

Sarah Dessen books were a thing since the Rennaisance Period but yeah, the Stone Age was pretty much my comfort zone. Her name only registered on me when I started blogging. A big THANK YOU to Summer @ Xingsings and Erika @ Bookventureland for introducing this to me.

10. Gillian Flynn

Elucidate me on how this angellic face splashed with innocence beguiles people into believing she can’t craft dark and twisted plots with badass female personalities. She just Wingardium Leviosa-ed stereotyping into oblivion!


 

See you on  TWITTER @thebookgasm|  GOODREADS @ Trisha Ann

17 comments

      • I have to say Gone Girl was my favorite Flynn book but I thought Sharp Objects was really good as well! Sharp Objects was more twisted and a bit harder to follow but I didn’t see some of the twists and turns coming.

        Like

  1. Jennifer Niven is so pretty. T_T I haven’t read her book because I’ve heard some very mixed things, but I’ll probably give it a go sometime next year. So glad Patrick Ness made it on your list. T_T He’s so brilliant. I wish I could read his Chaos Walking trilogy with fresh eyes.
    Jenny Han, Sarah J. Maas and Gillian Flynn made it on my list too! I haven’t read Dark Places yet, but I’m oh-so-curious about it. :3

    Like

    • She is! While googling photos of these authors I’m like, “why are they all so gorgeous?!” Just don’t let All the Bright Places’ hype pressure you into reading. I didn’t feel as emotional as the other probably bc of it haha!
      Ahh yes the celebrated Patrick Ness. How can he not?! I was smacked right in the heart by his A Monster Calls XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah! I’ve heard a lot of bad things about AtBP too. Some people said it glorified mental illness, and I’m not into that at all… maybe I’ll read it when the hype is completely dead. 😛
        Oh yes. A Monster Calls wrecked me. xD

        Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

