Top 10 Tuesday #3: Let’s Test These 2016 Debut Novels

Happy Tuesday, Booknerdigans!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme created by the ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish. This features all things book-related that one considers as personal best.

1448881368010

This week’s topic is about 2016 Debut Novels. Credits to this this list of YA Debut 2016 on Goodreads and this post from The Sweet Sixteens for these books.In 2015, I had a dose of my own medicine not to trust the hype in picking a book. My sole bases for selection are their propitious premises, catchy titles, and covers that stand out.


1. Timekeeper by Tara Sim

blank-133x176-8b769f39ba6687a82d2eef30bdf46977
Blatantly, the cover’s not available yet

MY THOUGHTS: The fantasy premise fascinates me. Assassins and protagonists with hidden powers are so long ago. I have great faith on this book to carry the burning torch (I’m overly dramatic, yeah?) of refreshing YA fantasy!
PUBLISHING DATE: Sometime in 2016
PUBLISHER: Sky Pony Press
SYNOPSIS (from Goodreads): CLICK HERE

 


2. Enter Title Here by Rahul Kanakia

22060619MY THOUGHTS: Yeah it’s the title that caught me. It’s like the missing presence. The title that’s not a title. It’s interesting in a sense that it opens several possibilities for a story. (..or I’m just amplifying my interpretations or whatever)
PUBLISHING DATE: August 2, 2016
PUBLISHER: Disney Hyperion
SYNOPSIS (from Goodreads): CLICK HERE

 


3. This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

24529123MY THOUGHTS: I’m a fan of novels with switching POV especially those where either different perspectives leads/ misleads to the missing puzzle piece. At least, that’s how I picture this one, a little like Gone Girl’s style. 
PUBLISHING DATE: January 5, 2016
PUBLISHER: Sourcebooks Fire
SYNOPSIS (from Goodreads): CLICK HERE

 


4. A Study in Charlotte by Britanny Cavallaro

23272028MY THOUGHTS: Finally, finally! A mystery/ YA thriller novel! I’m a bit nervous though this may turn out to be meh. Books where conclusions are foreseen before the revelation tend to dash my hopes up. 
PUBLISHING DATE: March 1, 2016
PUBLISHER: Katherine Tegen Books
SYNOPSIS (from Goodreads): CLICK HERE

 


5.  Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

21936937MY THOUGHTS: I’m not after the archetypal prince-meets-the-pauper kind of romance here. I’ve had enough dose so definitely NO! Reviews say this isn’t a pirate novel but I’m still intrigued on the world-building of this story set in England.
PUBLISHING DATE: February 9, 2016
PUBLISHER: Simon Pulse
SYNOPSIS (from Goodreads): CLICK HERE

 


6. Please Don’t Tell by Laura Tims

17933522MY THOUGHTS: Guys, it’s the cover. I’m a sucker for anything graffiti. Let’s see how this I-KNOW-WHAT-YOU DID-LAST-SUMMER sort of story pans out. PS. This is my first time to read a novel written by someone younger than me. OMGGG I’m oooold.. I’m ooold… *shuts blinds*
PUBLISHING DATE: May 24, 2016
PUBLISHER: Harper Collins
SYNOPSIS (from Goodreads): CLICK HERE

 


7. Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

25897792MY THOUGHTS: As a  royal supporter of Insidious, Time Traveller’s Wife, and Predestination, I have every reason to pick this book up. It guarantees an adolescent version of Outlander but  I haven’t read that one yet so surprise me! 
PUBLISHING DATE: May 24, 2016
PUBLISHER: Harper Collins
SYNOPSIS (from Goodreads): CLICK HERE

 


8. Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

22692740

MY THOUGHTS: The cover resembles that of Wonder by J.R. Palacio, yeah? I have huge hopes on this book that promises to describe fully well the struggles of coming out as a homophobic. Please oh please be a good representation!
PUBLISHING DATE: February 2, 2016
PUBLISHER: Balzer + Bray
SYNOPSIS (from Goodreads): CLICK HERE

 


9. Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie

23677316MY THOUGHTS: Everything about the premise screams Red Queen. If you’ve read my review tirade on that, you might wonder why I’m picking this one up.  I’m an outright masochist so why not?
PUBLISHING DATE: March 1, 2016
PUBLISHER: Katherine Tegen Books
SYNOPSIS (from Goodreads): CLICK HERE

 


10. Sword and Verse by Kathy Macmillan

22065067MY THOUGHTS: Protagonist with incredible abilities, princes falling in love with commoners, a hidden rebellion… yes, another a la Red Queen novel. I told you I love inflicting myself with pain. but well who knows this will tread a different branch..
PUBLISHING DATE: January 19, 2016
PUBLISHER: Harper Teen
SYNOPSIS (from Goodreads): CLICK HERE

 


 

22 comments

  1. I’m very curious and excited about This is Where it Ends! I’ve heard mixed opinions, but am really interested in the themes it explores… fingers crossed it’ll be good!

    Holy crap though, Burning Glass sounds AWESOME and it’s unleashing my inner fangirl. Thanks for sharing this Trisha! I’m going to keep tabs on it and pick it up eventually!! 😀 (I’m a bookish masochist too, hahaha!)

    Like

    • Yeah! The way the synopsis was written was my chief reason of wanting to pick up This is Where It Ends. I just love books where I get to pretend like the detective. 😀
      Right??As much as we hated a book, we still read others with the same theme. Burning Glass sounds like Red Queen but I hope it will be different for the better!! And you’re welcome, CW 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m completely sold to these ten books. I haven’t even heard of Please Don’t Tell until I started checking out blogs today, it sounds intense! I feel like A Study in Charlotte is surrounded by so much hype I’m nervous to pick it up XD

    Like

  3. Wow, I was intrigued by Enter Title Here, and just checked the synopsis. And now I just want to read it right now. So thank you for that, Trisha, haha! Seriously, this book sounds SO good and one of a kind, I’m going to need to read it as soon as possible ahah! I’ve heard a lot about A Study in Charlotte, but I’m scared to add it to my TBR. I feel like everyone wants to read it, and I’m scared to be disappointed, ahah! Great choices this week!! 😀

    Like

    • Thanks Marie!
      It’s really the title that caught me on Enter Title Here. Without reading the synopsis, one can relate a lot into it.

      Right?? I won’t be surprised A Study in Charlotte is in practically everyone’s list. The rave on Goodreads is equally cray! Well I hope the book’s worth the hype! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice list, Trisha! I’m intrigued by This is Where it Ends since I saw it on netgalley, it’s supposed to be about school shooting and I hope the author does a good job on portraying the terror and trauma.
    It’s true that the last two books in your list are sort of ‘Red Queen’-ish. I think I’ll wait ’til the reviews start to roll in before making decision to read it or not. :p (I will probably end up reading it anyway. #masochisticmaybe)

    Like

    • Thanks Windie! ARC reviews od This is Where It Ends on Goodreads are mostly leaning towards positive so I have high hopes for this. And yeah I hope the author does well in showing emotions especially that this is written in 4 perspectives hence, terror in differently personalities.
      LOL! Someone learned her lessons from Red Queen! Well I hope these two will have better features than Red Queen. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Where It Ends & A Study In Charlotte sound like they’re my type of books! I love mystery and thriller. Thanks for sharing this list!

    Like

  6. Same thoughts on the cover of Symptoms of Being Human. I felt it was Wonder-ish plus it had a kind of Perks of being a Wallflower feel for me. Though I am really excited about Burning Glass! I’ve heard great things about it 😀

    Like

  7. I have ARCS of Enter Title Here, This is Where It Ends, and Please Don’t Tell and I can’t wait to read them! I also read and loved Symptoms of Being Human. Burning Glass and Sword & Verse were also fun reads. I hope you enjoy them all!

    Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

