BPC (Week 1): Things I Learned From the Book Blogging Community

Happy Friday Booknerdigans!

I bring you another episode of BLOGGER POSITIVITY CAMPAIGN. This advocacy is spearheaded and hosted by Jillian who’s blogging over at Jillian’s Books.

the2bblogger

Shortly after 2015 replaces our old calendars, my blog, The Bookgasm, was baptized in the blogosphere. It’s pretty much a new blog relative to multiple others. Like a seed germinating into a baby plant, my blog thirsts for water and hungers for nutrients. The book blogging community has green hands cut for the job. I’m talking present tense because it still does. My blog’s still a juvenile but nonetheless, interacting with the community around it, the things I learned are unparalleled.

 

PS My thoughts are pretty scattered right now. You might sense the lack of coherence on my writing here so I apologize beforehand but I hope you get something from it!


 

textgram_1447996818

Why do you blog? You demand to be heard. Primarily, this is the idyllic form of media that allows outright expression. Be it a simple picture, a quote, a long book review, or an interminable Top 10 Tuesday habit, all these are a matter of making a statement.  For once I found a venue where expressing comes without toll and the critics don’t tongue-lash and discriminate. There’s no inscribed etiquette on any hard stone about being a part of the book blogging community but in majority, everyone’s mantra seem to revolve around being smart and tactful in commenting. I’ve had a handful of loathsome interactions with some but these exists very minutely it doesn’t merit my discouragement.


textgram_1448025827

Prior to blogging, the authors sitting on my bookshelf are few and repetitive. I thought I was reading enough but blogging made me realize I could devour more. The book blogging community is a fountain of ideas.  It unlocked doors for me to a wide array of authors, books in different genres, and, what I loved the most, book outlets that wave their red flags of discounts.  Furthermore, I revel in the fact that the books I hate are others’ favorites and while those that I wallow in happen to be others’ pet peeves. Why? Like learning to look at a picture upside down. Reading others’ speaking minds provide an opportune venue to understand their reasons, meet their culture and way of thinking.

textgram_1448026234

If truth be told, there are times when I’m being a little goosey before posting up something. No seriously the feeling resembles that of actors’ and actresses’ on a premiere night. I’m nowhere near the entertainment industry but you get the picture, yeah? The thing about about a “blog’s premiere” is I’m out-and-out clueless if it will get applauded, booed, or worse, ignored. I dread my book reviews went overboard it becomes offensive or otherwise too much on the safe side it’s no longer my mind speaking.What about keeping my stats up on a positive slope? My followers and readers’ opinions matter to me a lot. But then the realization would hit me: so does mine. I go back to the very reason I’m into this sphere in the first place and that’s to express. The book blogging community is vast and dynamic it’s impossible to please each of its denizen. What I posted up may not have earned me a view or a follower but I learned that blogging success is more a matter of fulfilling my cause.


 

 

See you on  TWITTER @thebookgasm |  GOODREADS @ Trisha Ann

 

 

13 comments

  1. This is so cool! I love the last one, because I think people often get lost in the numbers and statistics and forget to blog for themselves… I know I’ve been guilty of that and it took the fun out of blogging, but I’m back on track now and enjoying it wayyy more now that I’m posting the things that I want to post

    Like

    • Thank you! I think we all are guilty of this and it’s ok if it’s what gives us fulfillment and motivation to blog. But of course these shouldn’t be the sole factors. Like what you said, post for yourself. Cheers! 😀

      Like

  2. YES, YES, YES to all of these Trisha! I completely agree with everything you’ve said here. Blogging has taught me so much – not just about books and writing, but about myself and the world I live in as well. It’s so important to remember that blogging isn’t just about ARCs and page views, but about making friends and book discussion. (After all, that’s why we started blogging in the first place!) Thank you for sharing this and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Like

    • Thank you, Zoe! You don’t know how much your message meant to me. :”>

      That was a good point too. There was a time then when I had to rush reading an ARC because I want to be one of the first few who gets to publish a review about it. But then I realize it’s sacrificing the very reason why I read which is to have fun. Your comment just made me realize how much I should learn from that. Thank you! 😀

      Like

  3. Great insight Trisha, I feel like I’m reading my own thoughts :p I never fully appreciated the benefits of blogging, and this is a great reminder. My favourite is discovering new authors and books along the way, because that’s what really pushed me to start blogging. ❤

    Like

    • Thanks Joan! Tbh, names like Sarah J Maas don’t ring a bell to me until I started this. I even wouldn’t consider reading it then bc covers as such aren’t my type. It’s only thru blogging I learned to diversify my tastes in books.

      Like

  4. “For once I found a venue where expressing comes without toll and the critics don’t tongue-lash and discriminate.” This is both true and untrue at the same time. I think bloggers have simply embraced *knowing* when to be vocal about having a dissonant opinion because it’s in the name of the reviewing business; so you do unto others as you’d like have done onto you. Unlike you enjoy getting crucified…then by all means.

    Like

    • Oh right. That’s a good point. Also, we’re sometimes held back to what we want to say bc we’re “indebted to say good words” to that blogger. (Or unless bloggers are very close to each other they can trash talk or be super honest with each. That’s the best I guess) But yeah I’m grateful though that the blogging community points out negative criticisms with necessary manners (so far). 😀

      Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

