BLOGGER POSITIVITY CAMPAIGN: Hey there!

Happy Thursday, guys!

I realize how 2015 panned out to be a series of happenstances for me. This isn’t to say it was a complete failure because the terrible stuff that happened made me what I am right now. Before the year draws to an end, I’d like to bring the flukes to a standstill and shed light to something more bright and encouraging.

This is the very reason I’m joining The Blogger Positivity Campaign. The BPC is the initiative of Jillian @ Jillian’s Books which aims to spread confidence and positivity among bloggers in this community.

the2bblogger

To commence this campaign, we’re starting off with a little introduction of participants which in this case, happens to be moi!

  1. Introduce yourself and your blog!

Heyya! I’m Trisha and I’m a nutritionist by profession. I blog over at The Bookgasm Blog where I put across all my thoughts on books. Mostly, I review books from the YA spectrum but I occasionally explore other genre including adult and children’s fiction. Also interspersed in between reviews are book tags/awards, and several book memes where I talk about, yes, again books.

  1. Where do you blog from?

I blog from the Philippines, an archipelago mottled with several gorgeous beaches. Surf with me!

beautiful-white-beach-boracay-philippines-expats-hoppler

  1. Who or what made you the reader you are today?

I grew up in a house full of books and people who loves reading. The reader in me is mostly an influence of my surrounding. Would you believe the first book I’ve ever read is an encyclopedia? That was way back when Google wasn’t a thing yet.

encyclopedia

  1. Who or what made you decide to create a book blog?

It’s a long story but to cut the chase, my blog has been in agenda for 4 freaking years. Harry Potter just concluded and I had post-HP syndromes I wanted to vent it out to Potterheads all across the globe. I wanted to fire it up in college but you know how school eats everything in your life, you get no room for anything else. Yup, it was postponed for that long.

  1. What are your thoughts on the blogosphere today?

That it’s the downright idyllic venue to listen and be listened to.

  1. 5 random facts about you?

I feel like I’m doing a book award but…

  1. Nobody from my social circle knows my blog exists.
  2. At 23, my cooking skills can be outsmarted by a kindergarten.
  3. I fell in love with Japan’s opulence that I would go there in a snap if given the prospect.
  4. On office meetings, I doodle more than participate.
  5. Like practically everybody else, shopping and a sumptuous meal are my antidotes to a bad day.

0a3d2a086eaafe832d58281eeab1858cd3bd3e3d4736e582a383b3aee933a14c

 

  1. 5 favorite books you’ve read and loved?

  1. Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling. Need I Say More?
  2. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. Will Traynor *sobs*
  3. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. I’m a sucker for anything poignant, so what?
  4. The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom. The most concrete picture of heaven for me.
  5. The Summer Trilogy. It’s a fluffy, cute read with an immensely obnoxious adolescent lead. I’m up for some pain, yes?
  1. 5 favorite book bloggers!

  1. Summer @ Xingsings. We started out pretty much on the same dates and she’s the first ever friend(in books, in animation stuff, and life matters yes!) I made here. Despite being busy in school and other life requirements, she makes it a point to catch up on the blogosphere.
  2. CW @ Read, Think, Ponder. CW has a knack in writing both on-point book reviews and discussions. Articulate? Very much. She’s also a fellow Studio Ghibli fan so yes, one of my favorite people indeed!
  3. Nicolette @ A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly. One of the recent friends I made in the blogosphere is Nic. She’s a sweet book blogger with all the talents in the world – drawing, singing, cooking, and writing.
  4. Joan @ Fiddler Blue. Like Nic, I’ve only interacted with Joan only recently but the few times we did I’m grateful for. I appreciate her advises in life, my work in particular, and everything else.
  5. Rawls @ E. Rawls Fantasy. One of the first few authors I’ve followed in the blogosphere is E. Rawls. She’s incredibly talented in writing as evidenced by her haikus and on-going novels on her blog. I appreciate her leaving comments on my posts in spite of living a hectic author’s life.

 

So there you have it! My first take on this campaign. Thanks for reading!


 

See you on  TWITTER @thebookgasm |  GOODREADS @ Trisha Ann

 

28 comments

    • Absolutely! I’m glad there are initiatives as this. I had fun reading other posts related to BPC bc it showcases stuff about their non-bookish life too. Something we don’t often see in the book blogosphere 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ahh, I adore these blogger posts because they really allow us to get a wider glimpse of each other as non-bookworms too. And aww, thank you for mentioning me, Trisha! ❤️ I think you and Erika at Erika at Bookventureland were the very first bloggers I talked to on here. We’re almost at our one year blogversaries! How time flies! And, aww, that puppy cooking meme!

    Like

    • Yeah! Posts like these help us realize there’s more about a person than just books. I enjoyed reading other posts too!

      OMG yes! I think Erika started a little earlier but close to when we started. Awww our blog’s turning one year soon! What a milestone! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This campaign is so much fun 🙂 OHMYGOSH YESS HARRY POTTER! I didn’t put it on my list and now I feel bad….

    Nobody ILR used to know about my blog either… I’ve told a few people now, but there’s still not too many of them. Just an elite (ha) group or lucky people!

    Like

    • It is! Really? I feel like HP’s practically the standard answer for questions like this lol.

      I just don’t feel like letting them know I’ve put up one. I like to keep my thoughts to myself and to people in the blogosphere (who I don’t personally know) 😀

      Like

  3. I remember the first time I heard about “Google”. I didn’t understand it or know how to use it, lol! I feel old too. 🙂
    Love the random facts! I’m not much of a cook either. I can do fried eggs, rice, frozen veggetables… yeah, haha XD.
    How has work and life been this week? I know it must be hard coming back from such a wonderful place like Japan…
    Thank you for the mention, btw! ❤ I enjoy our conversations, and our book and anime talk!
    Did you get a chance to see the Junior High Attack on Titan yet?

    Like

    • I concretely remember that before Google, there’s Yahoo and I completely rely to this until Google gained its edge.

      Oh buddy, we don’t make good housemates! We might starve ourselves to death or just eternally resort to take out if we do lol

      Life’s getting pretty well. I heeded your advice about finding a hobby (hence my activeness in the blogosphere lately). Thanks for that! How are you doing? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, yes, or find a friend who is a really good cook and have them stay with us lol! 😀
        I’m glad to hear that. Blogging and reading are fun hobbies! 🙂
        I’m doing well. Things are busy this week though because Thanksgiving Day is this Thursday. I’ve also had a frustrating time with editing. But other than that things are good. 🙂

        Like

      • Oh yeah, Happy Thanksgiving, E. Rawls! We don’t celebrate it here so no Turkeys and Black Fridays for us D: But well, I hope you and your family had a blast at Thanksgiving and if you do plan to go out shopping, have a safe trip. I heard accidents are rampant during these 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, Trisha! I had a good Thanksgiving with family and friends! We had a big dinner, did some coloring art, chatted, and watched a cute movie. 🙂 No shopping for me, haha, I am too scared of the crazy driving and people that crowd the malls! XD Instead I shop online. 😀 Black Friday is just too crazy, lol!

        Like

      • Right?? Ive never experienced one but I watched videos and they’re cray!! Well who wouldn’t be if they’re up for a good bargain. Glad to hear you had a great Thanksgiving. Coloring is indeed becoming a family thing!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. TRISHAAAAAAAAAAAAAA *GLOMPS* Thank you for your sweet words… I feel the love! :’D I hope you know that you’re one of my most valuable friends that I have met through this book blogging community. :’) You’re wonderful, Trisha!

    I didn’t know you were a nutritionist, but that’s so cool! Ever since I started lifting heavier weights about a year ago, I’ve become really interested in nutrition, esp since I am a little more aware of my eating habits and all. I don’t know – I just love that stuff. 😀

    Like

    • Awww that’s equally sweet, CW! You are among the best as well and I appreciate the twitter and blog convos that we have so so much!

      I am though my body frame doesn’t speak so much about being a nutritionist (being not-in-a-nice-way slim and all). Physical activity and a healthy diet are keys to good health and I’m glad they’re in your routine. I’m still working on making exercise part of my habit. Haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      • AW, thanks Trisha! :’) I appreciate them too! 💓

        Oh me too! I know what you mean. I’m really short, and it shows in my body shape. XD The exercise part took me years to develop an ounce of discipline! And even then (especially lately) I’ve been giving myself off days. X’D

        Like

      • It’s funny how people think getting fat is the worst problem when in fact, some like us struggle to gain weight. Haha! Well, that development was a milestone for you! I just hope to find the best motivation to start exercising lol.

        Like

      • I think having unhealthy, self-destructive habits is much worse than getting fat! Some of my friends are a bit ‘larger’ but it’s because of their bone structure. Dx I think sometimes it’s all part of those unrealistic standards of beauty that push people to hate a simple thing as fatness.

        My motivation was to get stronger! Because of my height, a lot of my friends think I am weak/can’t lift heavy things, etc. :I So I set out on getting stronger to subvert that. XD

        Like

      • So so true! That’s exactly how a motivation should be. It’s sad people allow themselves to conform to social norms e.g. beauty standards. I had skinny friends who still seek nutrition counsel from me on weight reduction. If there’s such a thing as RT on WP, I will do so on your comment, CW! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m terrible at cooking, too. You’d think that at twenty-six, I’d at least have mastered a few recipes, but nope. I can pretty much only make mozzarella stuffed meatballs, and anything that comes out of a box.

    Like

    • Omg thanks for being on the same boat! But Mozarella stuffed meatballs?! The name rings an intricate procedure to me. So don’t worry, between you and this girl whose only expertise is boiling water aka moi, you’re better! 🙂

      Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

