Top 5 Wednesday: Help Me Finish These Books Please!

Happy Wednesday Booknerdigans!

While the a major quarter of the earth is getting the chilly Christmas vibes, we’re being roasted here in the Pacific! Boy, the temperature’s rising madly each day! This isn’t the normal climate we have at this time of the year but you know, weather disturbances and mother Earth striking back and all. *sigh*

Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the booktuber, Lainey aka gingereadslainey. You can find the topics and the Goodreads page of the book meme here. This week’s topic is unfinished books. Seriously, this list of mine gets longer and longer each time! There’s several factors influencing this fact but let’s save it for another discussion.

Click the picture to link on their Goodreads info!


1. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Rainbow Rowell is considerably one of the best contemporary YA/NA authors. Her Eleanor and Park attests to that. But well, even the best authors flunk at one book or two and I think this is it for Rainbow Rowell.

2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Maybe classics aren’t really for me. I’m doing Popsugar’s 2015 Reading Challenge and this is supposed to be my entry for a classic. It was a nice story, well-deep with messages, but it was a total struggle for me getting through with it.

3. The Pelican Brief by John Grisham

I mentioned before that I was deeply captivated by Grisham’s skills in weaving legal-related stories. This was my testimony to that. However, the primary reason The Pelican Brief was left unfinished is because this year bore several fantastic YA novels. I’m a junkie for such so I had to trade this book for YA novels. Status as of the moment? It’s on top of my TBCR (To be continued reading)

4. 1984 by George Orwell

Okay. Don’t shoot me those judging eyes. This book is good and I know that. There’s just better books that demanded to be read before this. Again, this is on my TBCR.

5. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

When I made a post about reading A Song of Fire and Ice series a few months back since, there’s nothing but motivation in me to get through with the books. Oh how freaking hard it is to get immersed! I badly want to read it to witness some unexplained scenes on the TV show. It doesn’t suit my taste YET. Probably because it is unusual from the genre I’m typically into. But hey, congratulate me for devouring at least more than half of the book! What a milestone!


See you on  TWITTER @thebookgasm |  GOODREADS @ Trisha Ann

13 comments

  1. I barely got through 1984. I don’t really know why I read it. I had to read Animal Farm in school and I hated that one too. I think sometimes the books you read just to say you have are the ones you aren’t going to finish.

    Like

  2. I’ve heard similar things about Attachments, too. A lot of people who love everything she’s written can’t get through that one. TKAM is totally worth the struggle — try watching the film on Netflix, I think it might actually enhance the reading experience.

    Like

    • Oops just read your comment! I’m sorry. I suck at keeping track of them.

      Yeah, Attachments was a real struggle! I tried to like it but it didn’t make it easy for it to be liked *sigh*

      I really have a feeling TKAM is an incredibly wonderful story. It’s just really me and classics. One day, I tell you, I am gonna finish that book. Thanks though! I’m gonna try that movie you’re talking about 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nooooo, I promise To Kill A Mocking Bird gets better. Forget the recent hype from her previous manuscript and blank out. Think curious/mischievous kids, a court room, an innocent man and think of themes such as Love and Family Relationship, Racism etc. I have only read this book twice, the first time around 1998 and I love it and read it again in 2013 thereabout. It is a great read, sorry I am just trying to help since you ask. I will shut up and go away now…

    Like

  4. GOOD LUCK with all these books! They are some pretty tough ones, I understand. I still have To Kill A Mockingbird on my to-be-read-soon shelf.
    And I only consumed the entire Game of Thrones first novel because I was on holiday in Malaysia and had nothing to do every day! 😄

    Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

