Top 10 Tuesday: Book to Movie Adaptations, Anyone?

Happy Tuesday, Booknerdigans!

It’s been more than half a year now since my blog started operating. That’s comparably a short duration but I guess it’s safe to say I’m well overdue in participating on a very famous book meme as a book blogger. If things go my way, I would devote more time on this blog but you know, it’s always the contrary. My life pretty much consists of 1.) Work, 2.) Work, and 3.) Work which, I know, is a very tedious life. There’s sweet writer/blogger who I frequently talk with on the blogosphere, E. Rawls, and she told me it’s best to get a hobby after work to remedy the monotonous life. And so here is me heeding her advice!

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly book meme created by the ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish. This is almost a standard book meme for a very book blogger but like what I said, I’m joining the ride just now.  Yup, I’m a rookie to this club  so feel free to be critics of my work!

Top 5 Wednesday

This week’s topic is about book to movie adaptations. I will be splitting them into two such that I’d give five each for released films I should watch and for those yet to be released.


T10Ta_1110


1. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I’ve always been blatant about my deep fondness to this book. I love it love it love it! Scan my previous blog posts and witness that ninety percent of which have Me Before You hints *wink* I was so elated when the good news broke about this being adapted to a movie. What’s more, they picked not just “some character”. Sam Claflin and Emilia Clarke, I’m solved!


2. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling

The Potterhead community was abuzz when J.K. Rowling divulged Fantastic Beasts was set for a motion picture. The magic still lives! Though the casting wasn’t revealed yet, the Potterworld’s raving about the leads already. I’m glad there’ll be some original casts who will reprise their roles.


3. Allegiant by Veronica Roth

The two installments prior to this movie, Divergent and Insurgent, are considerably among the best book to movie adaptations I’ve watched so far. Sure the movies had an absolute revamping but these didn’t warrant a walk out in the cinema. What I’m really after Allegiant for is to see if the film staff would stick to Roth’s manner of concluding the story. If you’ve read the book, you know what I mean



4. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Somebody tell me when this will be pursued! I only know it’s Dreamworks who bought the rights for it but there’s no definite date yet, yes? But since it’s Dreamworks, my mind’s at ease. Any dream cast? Hmm I still have no rightful nominees for Eleanor but I’m thinking Ki Hong Lee who played Miho in the Maze Runner will do well as Park. 

5. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I haven’t read this one yet but I bought the book. It’s peaking from the thick heap of books as if alluring me to buy it. I got the illustrated version and boy, the glossy pages and the drawings are so to die for! There’s a ridiculous rave on Patrick Ness so this is me checking out what the fuss was about.

T10Tb_1110


6. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

I know this movie sucked in all ways but man, this is Logan Lerman. That reason suffices. I’ll just ignore the crappy cinematography sand simply stare at his glorious face for 2 hours. Just compensation, right? Plus, there’s a slight curiosity in me as to how modern-aged motion pictures depict Greek monsters, gods, and goddesses so… 

7. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This book evokes a very Schindler’s List vibe. Zusak’s way of unfolding the story before the readers was spectacular. It’s as if treading the same path as Liesl did during the Second World War. I’m hoping the movie does too.  

8. The Martian by Andy Weir


I’ve never heard about this book until it was adapted into movie. Everyone’s exclaiming how it tugged at the heartstrings. So as a junkie for tear-jerking stuff, I demand to see this movie. Please agree this is a good watch! 

9. Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien

My desire to watch this movie developed a decade too late. How do you expect a kid with the shortest attention span to stay tuned to a movie that’s 4 hours long! It was aired on HBO multiple times but my choice was always to flip the channel. But I’m almost ready now so bring it on, Frodo!

10. Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Contrary to what others’ perspective about this book, it wasn’t ‘much of a masterpiece for me. The fantasy theme didn’t get to me that much and I stopped quarterway. My instinct tells me I have to see the movie first before the book captivates me. 



See you on  TWITTER @thebookgasm |  GOODREADS @ Trisha Ann

29 comments

  1. I watched the first Percy Jackson three times. HAHAHA. I actually enjoy it. I might or might not own the DVD. xD The second movie was terrible though.
    The Martian is an excellent choice. And you totally need to watch LOTR for Legolas/Gimli if for no other reasons.
    I also cannot wait for Fantastic Beasts. 🙂

    Like

    • Three times?? I must have been so wrong to consider it only for Percy! Lol!
      I heard The Martian’s awesome! Too bad I missed it on the theater though.
      Yeah that’s what I thought about LOTR. Legolas is such a swoon-worthy thing but I hope to get hooked to its fantasy aspects too haha!

      Like

      • A lot of people hating the PJO movie because many things were different from the book. As a movie per se, I don’t think it was that bad. Although I will admit that I am biased. xD
        LOTR movies are great, but it could be boring at times. Like you said, they’re very long. Waching LOTR needs commitment. lol.

        Like

      • Yeah well I can’t name a single movie adaptation that has completely adhered to the book. Hating PJO movies shouldn’t be solely based on that lol.
        Ugh you are right about LOTR. It’s tedious and I might need someone who have watched it to sit with me in case I fail to understand some parts lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • They changed a ton from the book, it was almost like it was a mix of the first and second book. My only major problem was them screwing up the mythology. I’ve come to accept changes from books but you can’t change something that’s been around for centuries.

        Like

      • Yeah you’re right. Modifications of what happened in the book are a culture but that’s something unacceptable! If children would watch it, they might get confused from what’s factual and what’s not.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list!

    I will say I really didn’t like the LOTR books. (I know, I know Tolkein sacrilege!) I tried them as a kid, couldn’t get into them. Then The Fellowship of the Ring movie came out. WOW. What a film. I loved it. (Although in the theater it was only 2.5 hours, prior to the director’s cut. 😉 ) So I read the books again, because I needed to find out what happened to the Fellowship. The books still were not for me. This is one case where I loved the movie so much more than the book. And Viggo Mortensen, Orlando Bloom, and Sean Bean? You can’t beat that.

    http://hiddenstaircase.net/2015/11/10/ttt-from-the-pages-of-a-book-to-the-silver-screen/

    Like

    • Ahh your description on LOTR reminded me so much of Game of Thrones! I loved the show so so much but the books weren’t for me. I’m thinking LOTR’s writing is a little like GOT so, I’m gonna go with the movie over the books. Haha! And of course those handsomes are what I’m also after for lol

      Like

  3. I was going to join the Top Ten Tuesday club too, but there’s not a lot of time in my hands today. There’s always next week!

    I can’t wait for Fantastic Beasts, but I’m nervous as well, I don’t want the movie to be really bad. Everyone really likes The Martian but I haven’t even read the book yet! I really prefer the LOTR movies to the books, because the books are just to dense for me to get into.

    Like

    • Ahh that’s my initial dilemma. Time’s always short for me. I hope to keep TTT up regularly *fingers crossed*
      Yeah I hope everything that will happen on the movie will be under the supervision of JK Rowling!
      Yup LOTR books are too information-heavy! I admire people who could get through such a hard read. I think I’m a movie person too when it comes to LOTR haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Have you read the Lord of the RIngs? I haven’t read the books, but the movies are the greatest movies ever made, and I’m 100% convinced of that. I don’t know how many times I’ve seen them. I have to have at least 2 marathons every 6 months; it’s necessary for my continuing existence.

    I haven’t read Me Before You, but I love both Sam Claflin and Emilia Clarke, so I have to read the book now. xD Because of course, I can’t watch a movie without having read the book.

    Great post, Trisha Ann. x

    Like

    • I haven’t read LOTR yet and I’m not sure I will! It’s like Game of Thrones for me. I think I’m gonna enjoy the movie mote than the book haha! Tbh, the reason why I didn’t watch it at first was bc it was shown the
      same time as HP and I’m a loyal HP fan so… But if LOTR’s as extremely important as the air you breathe (haha!), I’m gonna consider it for sure.

      Yessss! I highly recommend you read Me Before You first! I was so excited when they announced the leads. The book was given justice!
      Awww you’re welcome, Aimal! 🙂

      Like

  5. I’m glad my advice could be of help, Trisha. I like your hobby! ❤

    Fantastic Beasts, I'm looking forward to that!!! And The Martian I really want to rent once it's out!
    The Book Thief was beautiful and very sad. I enjoyed The Lightning Thief, just taking it for what it was, maybe because I haven't read the books yet… maybe you'll like it too. 🙂
    LOTR!!! Yes, you must watch! Turn out the lights, put away all distractions, and dive into the LOTR's world! 😀

    Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

