Spotlight Saturday #3: Transported Back to Reality :(

Happy Saturday booknerdigans! I missed last week’s Spotlight Saturday because I’m out wanderlust-ing in the Land of the Rising Sun aka Juh-pan! Oh what a fun it was! Well, anyway here’s me catching up to this book meme.

Spotlight Saturday

Spotlight Saturday is a weekly feature, created by Josie at Josie’s Book Corner, dedicated to spotlighting and pinpointing some of the things over the week that have caught my attention more than usual, things I’ve particularly loved, etc. 

Spotlighted Blogger

I’m spotlighting another female book blogger by the name of Dee who blogs over at the Bookish Khaleesi. I’m not sure when she started blogging. It’s probably just recently but man, do notice how fast this girl’s blog success accelerates! Dee and I have a common fetish for TV shows. Game of Thrones included obviously (which explains her blog title) and Grey’s Anatomy. (And woot, she’s also a huge fan of The Big Bang Theory and The Walking Dead) Yup, she’s my favorite fellow TV show fangirl!

I adore how she manages to post practically at least two book reviews in a week. How do these people read so fast??? Not to mention compose a review that easily! Other than this ultra-supernatural powers of her, I like reading her reviews on Harry Potter. Most bookworms like me have read the series as a kid. An older person’s view of it is a refreshing scene.  Check out her blog if you haven’t yet!

Spotlighted Blog Post

In case you guys haven’t checked out yet, CW @ Read, Think, Ponder wrote a discussion regarding why we need book icons. Her post, Let’s Talk About: Why I Need Representations, spoke not only a grain of truth but a whole bunch! CW talked about how beauty isn’t a matter of skin color, not a privilege granted only for the whites and the Westerners. I don’t mean this to be a racist comment for such people but point is, everyone’s entitled to being beautiful. I also liked how she tackled the need for authors to voice out invisible stories, to research stuff and not just rely merely on stereotypes or what others have written. As an Asian who experiences the same struggles, this post is very much relatable.

Spotlighted Book

Unfortunately, after a fortnight, I’m still not done yet with Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. I didn’t bring it with me out of the country mainly because I wanted to save space and use the baggage allowance hauling all the goodies I could. Well, I’m only a quarter left though before completion and things are getting steamier! My eyes literally went wide upon learning that part on Baz’s “real emotions”! Please read it for you to see what I mean!

Love this fanart from a tumblrist!

Spotlighted Moment

I’m still having a post-Japan trip syndrome. I know I’ve been talking about Japan in almost all my blog posts lately but if you were in my shoes, you’ll  likewise catch the disease. As cliche as it sounds, it was one of the best weeks of my life. Everything was picturesque and all the places are worth the long walks. Japanese people are the kindest, most patient and polite beings ever to walk this planet. If I could genie my way back there, I would *sigh* But well, that trip was just a temporary lulling to dream land. Reality demands to be faced (and my crazy work’s screaming for me to be back!) so… Sayonara, Japan!


IMG_20151101_203000

Spotlighted App

It’s the age of selfies they say. But wait, will you post a photo of yourself with that horrible lighting? Thanks to a number of photo editing apps, this is no longer a dilemma. I’m using Snapseed to brighten up a photo if it appeared too dark. I’m not a selfie junkie but I do use it for that purpose on my foodstagram/travelstagram/lifestagram pictures. I like the feature where you can HDR a photo and make it look very vivid.

Spotlighted Music

“I’m so sick of that same old loooove” If you haven’t heard this song yet, you’re probably living under a rock. This is Same Old Love by Selena Gomez. Her voice here has matured so greatly one can’t hint a single trace of her Barney and Friends origin. Very pop and modern!

Spotlighted Quote

Here’s a quote from CW’s Let’s Discuss: Why I Need Representation.  

I need representation because I want people to believe that they can be beautiful no matter and because of their skin colour.

This is a lovely thought to ponder especially for those practically overpowered by low esteem. I’m guilty of embracing the culture that considers the skinny, the blonde, and the white as the sole standards of beauty. It’s important to flare one’s own skin and break apart from the awful social constructs we grew up with.


See you on  TWITTER @thebookgasm |  GOODREADS @ Trisha Ann

11 comments

  1. I’m going to Japan next week, I need to hear all about your recommendations for places to go! I love the country so much, I visited last year and can’t wait to be back!

    Like

  2. Ah gosh, I love that you decided to feature Chooi’s post on representation. It clearly was a topic that was important to her personally, and it was so relatable for me to an extent. And aww, I haven’t been out of the country yet (though I think you knew that) but I totally would have a post-trip vacation hangover too! 😛

    Like

    • Her post speaks for many minds especially Asians and other races who typically don’t get their stories on the spotlight. I also like how every week, she has something new and current to post! 😀

      I am looking forward to your future trip in Ireland, Summer! And of course, your awesome instagram photos by then 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

