Top 5 Wednesday: Halloween Recs (For Me)

Boo!

Happy Wednesday booknerdigans! I’m probably in a temple in Kyoto by the time I’m posting this, unfamiliar autumn air seeping through my tropical nativeness.

But hey! Let’s talk about halloween! I don’t know about you but when it’s halloween, the signs are showing: 1. All shows on TV are about horror documentaries or reruns of spooky movies; 2. All malls and shops have decorated their facilities with cobwebs; some take advantage of the season and don’t actually bother to clean up the dust. This brings me to another point: Top Halloween Recommendations for this week’s T5W.  Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the booktuber, Lainey aka gingereadslainey. You can find the topics and the Goodreads page of the book meme here.

images_20150906172430589

I haven’t read enough halloween-ish books (because I’m more of a visual person and my hair stands on end more straightly on TV adaptations). And thus, I’d be including books I have read and have planned on reading.


  1. Amityville Horror by Jay Anson

This is a high school read for me. When you’re the last person in class who hasn’t yet hopped on to the trendy, you’ll jump right on the next train to it. It was scary, I’m telling you. If you’ve watched — or American Horror Story’s Horror House, then you’ll get the picture. As it’s my first time to knock on a haunted house setting, everything’s original still and thus, extra creepy.


2. Goosebumps by R.L. Stine

I don’t know how many times Goosebumps made it to my T5W. A childhood halloween is not authentic without Goosebumps especially us awesome 90’s babies! I’m a self-confessed coulrophobic so any Goosebumps story about clowns terrify the hell out of me.


3. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Almosy everybody read this book and I’m, once again, behind the trend. Bod’s story interests me a big dose.


4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

I’ve been seeing this book a lot lately. Probably because of the halloween hype? I haven’t read any of the books in the series yet but I will soon (we have our own definitiona for “soon”). Look at that gorgeously creepy cover! That straight-faced kid just commands you to hide under your momma’s skirt. 


5. Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Another Gaiman book that has made the booknerdigan sphere active! I’ve seen the movie already but not the literary version yet. I bet it’s a lot better, yeah? 

QUESTION: Does a horror book become potentially more scary during the halloween than the rest of the year? Because that’s the story of my life.

See you on  TWITTER @thebookgasm |  GOODREADS @ Trisha Ann

11 comments

  1. Just seeing the cover of The Haunted Mask makes me re-live my childhood trauma, LOL. I read The Graveyard Book this summer but I wish I’d read it when I was a kid instead, Goosebumps-loving 11 year old me probably would have enjoyed it a lot.

    Like

    • The Haunted Mask is one of the best RL Stine stories! I’m not sure though if I’d be scared reading it today lol.
      Is The Graveyard Book more for kids than adult? I know what you feel as I had it when I read Percy Jackson this year. 😀

      Like

      • It definitely is! It was super scary, but probably not today, no haha.

        Yeah, I’d say The Graveyard Book is middle grade. It doesn’t really have much of a plot, just different things happening each chapter. I was pretty bored reading it unfortunately.

        Like

  2. I like for whatever I’m reading or watching to feel more scary during Halloween, and I think overall it does. But as you know, certain horror books and films will remain scary any time of the year–maybe extra so during October though. 😉

    Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

