REVIEW: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Clearly, I’ve been living under the rock for jumping in the bandwagon so late. You’re free to judge me *wink* Everyone’s just immensely raving about this book I have to find out what the craze is about!

AUTHOR: Sarah J. Maas

PUBLISHER: Bloomsbury USA Children’s

DATE PUBLISHED: August 7, 2012

OVERALL RATING: 4 out of 5

SYNOPSIS (from Goodreads) After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.


Before I read this book, I was quite anxious about what to feel when I finally get to it. Some hyped-up books do that to us. We’re agog about a particular craze only to end up with frustration once we get our hands to it. But as luck would have it, the rave wasn’t good for nothing.


WRITING STYLE:

As of writing, I now consider Sarah J. Maas as one of those authors which could easily captivate your style. There’s barely any effort getting immersed with her words. I don’t know about you but I’m a fan of novels with switching point of views. Maas executed that in a manner that would make you feel as though you’re the exact character in that story.


THEME:

Who else is in agreement with me in saying this is very Game of Thrones? I’m not saying it’s barely original but Rifthold reminds me so much of King’s Landing. And the king resembles Joffrey Baratheon only very slightly more benevolent.
The fantasy theme is completely distinct and easy to get hooked to. It talked about some old magic buried forcibly by the king which slowly fought its way to existence again. It may resemble some other books of the same genre but not entirely. Unfortunately, I didn’t see enough progress of the fantasy theme on the book. It somehow got overpowered by romance which made it appear like an absolute auxiliary. This isn’t to hate Celaena and Dorian’s steamy sessions but it all got mixed up thereby neglecting the very genre of this book.
Other themes presented include insurgence and I like how Maas presented it in a way that’s not Hunger Games at all (a common mistake post-HG dystopian YA novel commits). It’s hard to surpass a benchmark but while Hunger Games is a golden standard, TOG didn’t fade in comparison.


CHARACTERS:

I have a fetish for strong female personalities but given that it is a trend for most young adult novels nowadays, it takes an extra leap for that character to truly stand out. Maas didn’t fail to bring that out through Celaena Sardothien. Female strength doesn’t always have to mean righteous (Celaena kills people for a living and she’s a crack at it) which doesn’t translate to not being girl (A slaughterer who loves dress? That’s her and that shouldn’t be a big issue). And that badass tongue though:

Here’s a lesson for you, Weapons Master,” she said, stalking past him. “Give me real men to fight. Then maybe I’ll bother trying.

We also met other protagonists in this story, Chaol Westfall and Dorian Havilliard. Yes, we’re in for another love triangle trope. The sad truth is they’re friends and you know how love sometimes overpowers friendship. A more depressing fact is that they’re both the swoon-worthy sort and thus, vying for ships is hardly uncomplicated. If Maas turns one of them to a bad guy, I’m resigning as a fan.



PLOT:

Throne of Glass is undoubtedly loaded with action, fantasy, some more action, and romance. The plot picked up in a slow manner initially which actually caused me to have uncertainties in pursuing the series. While the entire story orbited on the King’s quest for a champion, it matured very steadily, far slower than our protagonists’ instalove. It’s probably due to its ambition to tackle several themes that the plot deflect from its actual focus numerous times.
However, some books have potentials on eventually becoming dynamic and I’m glad I treated TOG with some dose of forbearance. That plot twist, though a semi-trope, spiced up everything. The excitement level rose to a peak on the conclusion where Maas splashed readers with so many cliffhangers at the end of every chapter.


There’s a fat chance hundred percent chance I’m picking up the next book. There is a total of six books in the series and thus investing time could really be strenuous. I’m being sanguine about this though so hopefully it will all merit the toil.

And oh, if you haven’t checked on what’s trending yet, Throne of Glass has been opted for TV. What’s more, I have good faith on the people, Mark Gordon Company, who considered this for a TV adaptation since they too were the same crew behind Grey’s Anatomy. Check out the details here.

Twitter

What do you think about the book?

17 comments

  1. I’m glad that you enjoyed it 🙂 Just take your time, the longer the better, that way you don’t have to impatiently wait for the next book to be published. :p

    “Unfortunately, I didn’t see enough progress of the fantasy theme on the book. It somehow got overpowered by romance which made it appear like an absolute auxiliary”
    This is so true. As a matter of fact, one of very few people I know who dislike this book mentioned that this was the main reason she didn’t like it. She basically said that fifty percents of the books are just Celaena flirting and making out with Dorian and/or sulking. Cruel, but there’s some truth in it. IMO, the fantasy theme is explored more in the later books, especially book #3 and #4, and hopefully more in the #5 and #6.

    Like

    • I’m glad too! The book is just too hyped up I was a little anxious it wouldn’t be for me.
      Yeah Celaena and Dorian’s flirting-turned-love kind of thing pretty much got to my nerve! But yeah I still voted ships though.
      I’m reading COM now and I can feel the fantasy elements more blatantly.
      Ahhh everybody says my ships are gonna explored on the 3rd book or something different’s ginna happen by then. I’m exciteeed! 🙂

      Like

  2. I understand what you mean about the lack of fantasy in the first book – I found it frustrating as well, but really loved the plot! You are really amazing at reviews, by the way! 😊 I love how you structure your writing, it really makes it easy and enjoyable to read!

    Like

    • I swooned over Dorian and Celaena, that’s for sure. Just don’t expect it to be too high in fantasy (or better yet, don’t take my unpopular opinionion for it LOL) Let’s be patient though. They said we’ll be in for some more supernatural themes in the proceeding books 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The following books are even better than this first one, so I hope you’ll continue having loads of fun with the rest of the series. I know of a lot of ToG fans get turned off by HoF onwards but I hope your experience remains positive.

    Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

