The Emoji Book Tag

Heyya! I’m here for another book tag! There seems to be an endless deposit of that in the world. Bloggers don’t run out of ideas what to come up with, arbitrarily making book tags out of everything! Spell crazy. I’m featuring one that’s completely random but fun: THE EMOJI BOOK TAG

Thanks to Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts for tagging me! People, you seriously need to see how this guy could be altogether smart, eloquent, and funny on his posts. I’m not just sugar-coating everything. Check it out!

The rules are pretty simple. It’s just about pairing up the most used or recently used emoji with a book.


The Laughing Crying Emoji

I know several people who shed tears while laughing their heart out and I don’t get why. My anatomy doesn’t work that way. I don’t know if this is a rare thing but whenever I’m at the peak of chuckling, there’s no sound coming out at all from me. Just my laughing red face LOL.

If we’re talking about book characters here, I have a long list – Ron, Fred, and George Weasley from HP, Simon Lewis from TMI, etc. But of course, Rick Riordan‘s books deserve this laughing crying emoji. He’s exceedingly good at blasphemy (about mythological gods) and I’m guilty of finding the dialogues so freaking funny.


The Arrow-pricked Heart Emoji

Every time we’re reading about our ships and when it stayed afloat until the conclusion, we get our hearts pierced through by an imaginary Cupid.

So what book called for this?  The celebrated Throne of Glass by Sara J. Maas.  Who didn’t?! I initially shipped Celaena with Chaol. My heart always roots for the underdog (I’ve read through the first book yet). But now, I’m not so sure! Why does Dorian have to be tremendously handsome? If this is going to be another JESSA/WESSA love triangle, I’m not up for another heartbreak.


The Fist Emoji

Hand rolled into a fist translates to a blow or a punch. I translate this to any action-packed book. I’d like to highlight one of the eligible nominees for this category,  Insurgent by Veronica Roth. Never mind Tris and Tobias who frequently makes out when chance permits. This is my favorite on the Divergent trilogy and I personally think it’s where the peak of excitement resided (level of thrill went to a negative slope in Allegiant).


The Fuming Madly Emoji

The biggest letdown for me that deserves this cross emoji is If I Stay by Gayle Forman.  This has been a frequenter on my hate-related entries on book tags. I bought the series and I felt cheated. It promised a life-changing story when there’s absolutely none! Same goes for the movie. Well, it’s partially my fault I played along with the hype.


The Weeping Emoji

I’ve read so many books that made me throw a fit. I always talk about Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and my adventures of being under the weather after reading it so I’ll highlight another book: Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. I hate shoving others to have the same feels as mine but what kind of cold-hearted monster wouldn’t bawl out on that book?! Jem and Will’s parabatai bond tugged at the heartstrings so bad *sniffs*


Spread the happiness! 

Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks
Alysyn @ Reinreads
Alejandra @ Bookish Unicorn
Bianca @ Ultimate Fangirl
Charley @ Books and Bakes
Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions
CW Reads @ Read, Think, Ponder

Dee @ Bookish Khaleesi
E. Rawls @ Rawls E. Fantasy
Erika @ Bookventure Land
Fantasy Angel @ Avid Reader
Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard
Galaxy Star Site
Jess @ Princessica of Book
Jesse @ Books at Dawn
Josie @ Josie’s Book Corner
Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books
Summer @ Xingsings
Zee Zee @ Zee Zee with Books


See you on TWITTER |  GOODREADS

28 comments

  1. Oh now I really think I should avoid If I Stay. I’ve been thinking to buy it a couple of time when I was in bookstores, but I guess better not to!
    So totally agree about Jem and Will. I am team Jem, but it’s so difficult to pick. *sniffs*

    Liked by 1 person

    • If I Stay was meh for me but some loved it for the drama so don’t take my unpopular opinion for it too much LOL.
      Ahh violinists are just to swoon for. But to be honest, I still can’t decide whether I’m team Jem or team Will up til now.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ahahaha, you’re not the only one though. The reviews in goodreads are pretty mixed, which is why I haven’t bought it yet.
        I love Will too, I was rooting for Wessa in the third book and I have very rarely ever change ships.

        Like

      • Yeah! Even the movies had mixed receptions as well. I’m not sure if the sequel’s gonna get a film adaptatiob too.
        Omg me too! That look on Will’s face when Jem and Tessa planned their wedding. He’s like a poor puppy I want to keep!

        Like

  2. Haha, it’s not a true Trisha post without mention of the Weasleys or Me Before You! 😉 AND YES. The Clockwork Princess was a rollercoaster of emotions. I cried so much at the end. Sigh. But you probably already know this (I did see your other comment, and plan to catch up on replying on my blog soon!), and I want to say we talked about Korean dramas and maybe Secret Garden before. Well, my reason for mentioning this is because Secret Garden had a few episodes that made me cry buckets too. Anyway, thanks so much for the tag, Trisha! 😀

    Like

    • Hahaha OMG you’re right! I just noticed I’m recycling all my book tag answers. I’ll try to diversify my answers next time 😀
      Ahh yes, Secret Garden is a tear-jerker too! It’s extra special for me bc Hyun Bin is one of my favorite Korean RomCom actors. Now that you said it, it makes me want to marathon the series 🙂
      You’re welcome, Summer! 😀

      Like

  3. Thanks for tagging me. I like your choice for the laughing crying one. The Percy Jackson series was hilarious. Depending on how good a joke is and how hard I’m laughing, tears will stream down my face.

    Like

  4. Emojis are fun! Thanks for the tag, Trisha. 🙂 I haven’t read Rick Rodian’s books or Throne Of Glass yet, but plan to, got them on my TBR list!
    Love the angry emoji, lolol!
    Know what you mean about cry-laughing. It’s only happened to me a few times. I guess it takes a lot to make me laugh that ridiculously hard, lol. 😀

    Like

    • No problem. I hope flooding you with these tags isn’t a total bothersome bc there’s seriously a lot more coming lol.
      I actually haven’t finished PJ and TOG series but they’re both nice. Hope you’ll love them too. TOG is soon to be adapted as a TV show so I’d like to finish it before then 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

