Top 5 Wednesday: Title Font on Covers

QUICK CONFESSION: I already posted this last week but immediately had it torn down after a couple of hours when I realized this topic is supposed to be for this week. You have my permission to laugh.


Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the booktuber, Lainey aka gingereadslainey. You can find the topics and the Goodreads page of the book meme here.

Today’s topic is Title Font on Covers. Let’s highlight the kind of font styles often observed on boko covers.

  1. The uniform font syles. Some authors choose the same font styles and themes on their book covers. To make an identity? I guess. One good example is every Jojo Moyes book. If you put all the books together, the kinky titles look like a platter of spaghetti.

  2.  The McTheme-y Font Style. That’s a lousy name, I know (I’m rewatching Grey’s Anatomy and I’m having a McSteamy syndrome). There are font styles that talk about the book’s theme. Let’s talk about Harry Potter… and its lightning-bolt font titles. There was a time in highschool when my sister downloaded this cool font called “Harry Potter” and I got overly obsessed with it I used it in every possible occasion I can e.g. project covers.


  3.  The Dear-Someone/Something Font Styles. If you have a penchant for reading diaries, flirty love letters, or maybe a doctor’s prescription, these sassy, handwritten-like font styles are what you should look for.  I’m the kind who writes tiny neat letters in script form so NO, I’m personally not a fan of these font styles. (well, the story inside is a different story) .Look, you can hardly read “Schbosky” here.


  4. The “Warning: Creepy” Font Style. These are font styles that promises to petrify your living soul… though in reality, some just indirectly aims to shove your inner meh. They come in different designs: gooey flowing liquid, fade-in fade-out effects (if you know what I mean) , blood-splattered sort, etc. Some examples here:


  5.  The “Anything Goes” Font Styles.  Some font styles, you simply just can’t categorize. I can’t even fathom why they chose these font!! They don’t go with the theme, or story or whatever but simply the choice of that font would make the book cover extra spectacular. DISCLAIMER: I haven’t read any of the books I’m about to show here as an example but the font styles are just fantabulous.

While the book’s exterior greatly influences the possibility of it to be read, I personally don’t judge a story based on its shoddy cover… or font style. The author and the book illustrator may not be the same person.

Does the title font on covers affect you in a way as a reader?

15 comments

  1. The Jojo Moyes’ covers are to die for. I love when authors make all their books match. It’s like a signature thing, and you know it’s a book by said author as soon as you see it. xD I’ve never read a book by Moyes- would you recommend any? (:

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right! Well, to be honest, there’s only one by her I’ve read so far which is ME BEFORE YOU (I’m currently reading an ARC of its sequel, AFTER YOU). Out of all the books I’ve ever read, it’s one of my favorites. The story unfolded in a way that elicitted thousands of emotions. I literally couldn’t face reality after that 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks Josie! I saw other blogger’s Top 5 post last week about mental illness when I felt a flush of embarassment LOL. And you’re right about same font usage. Another author who has the same approach on her books is Sarah Dessen. They’re lovely! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d like to think that I wouldn’t judge a book based on fonts, but idk, haha. Most likely if the cover artwork itself is appealing or has a sense of fantasy about it I could ignore any fonts and read it. I do, however, like spooky/creepy fonts on a title if the book is meant to be horror, mystery, or Halloweenish. 🙂

    Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

