The Siblinghood of the World Bloggers

Hey there! Recently, I’ve come to realize that the number of book tags I’m supposed to do is piling up so insanely (Don’t get me wrong. These tags are my pleasure!).  Which brings me to doing this. unnamed_20150730194812805 I was tagged by three bloggers namely Hadjar at ManyReads, Maria at Big City Bookworm, and Summer at Xingsings to do this book tag. Thank you guys! *virtual hug* Originally, this book meme was entitled The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers but the name suggests sexism so I go for neutrality and coin it like how Summer did (Thank you, Summer! Click here for my gift *wink*), The Siblinghood of the World Bloggers. The rules are:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their blog in your post.
  2. Answer the questions that the blogger who nominated you has provided… But on this case, I’m going to answer five questions of each bloggers who nominated me. Mind you, my ramblings could take forever so better cut it at 5. Haha! 
  3. Nominate ten other bloggers.
  4. Create ten questions for your nominees and notify them of their nominations.

Hadjar’s questions:

1. Did you have a book that meant a lot to you as a child?

The first book I ever fell in love with was the encyclopedia. I remembered sprawling on the floor with those thick companions by my side hovering over the sections about the universe and the Solar System. Until now, astronomy is my thing.  

2. Is there any author or book that you collect and will always welcome multiple editions of the same title?

I’m actually not a fan of collecting multiple editions but if I am, that would be Harry Potter.

3. Say that you find yourself judging a book by its cover (not that we ever do that!); what sort of covers do you go for? Are there any that are an absolute turn off? 

I don’t go for books which showcases a couple aggressively executing a public display of affection. I’m not a huge advocate of conservatism but something tells me these books are nauseating. Haha!

4. If you could pick any imaginary animal to bring home to Mum with an earnest, “Can we keep him??”, what animal would it be? 

Totoro! If Mei comes in package, our family would gladly embrace a cute younger sibling addition!

5. Is there any book to movie adaptation that you simply refuse to watch? No way, you’re not even giving them the opportunity to mess it up.

I haven’t watched any Percy Jackson film yet and from what many feedback said, the movie team did a total nut job. I don’t want to ruin the perfect Camp Half-blood picture in my mind with such. But, I welcome any comment that says otherwise! 😀


Maria’s questions:

1. What made you decide to start book blogging?

This blog had actually been planned for so many years and had been actually postponed for so many times. Back in college, I badly wanted to do this for three cliche-but-honest reasons: 1. To express 2. To learn 3. To meet people. But academic stuff keep getting in the way that I had to put it off at some later time aka this year. I’ll make sure to write a proper post regarding this topic 😀

2. What is your favorite book to movie adaptation?

That would definitely be The Mortal Instruments…. kidding! It’s like the worst of all worsts! Haha! I have high hopes for the TV series though. Anyway, I’ll go for American Sniper and Gone Girl. These weren’t Oscar nominees just for nothing. And of course, no matter how much omissions and deviations there were, I still liked watching Harry Potter over and over.

                               

3. Do you prefer paperbacks, hardcovers or ebooks?

I’m more of a physical book person. I’m sure you know the pleasure of seeing them stacked in a bookshelf neatly. Besides, my eyes hurt more when I read ebooks. At this age, I still have 20/20 vision and I’d like to keep it that way until I get old and wrinkled.

4. What is your favourite book that you have read so far this year?

If you’ve been reading my posts (Thank you, if you do), you’ll know how deeply captivated I got with Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. To be honest, I couldn’t pick up another book for a few days when I finished it. I got hit so badly the feeling literally lingered so long.

PS They’re making it a movie which will be played by *drum roll* Sam Claflin and Emilia Clark! Yup, District 4 victor and the Mother of Dragons!

5. What is one book that you would love to see turned into a movie or television show?

Unwind by Neal Shusterman. I have strong endurance and preference for any gut-churning, gross, and horrible stuff so I’d like to see it on the big screen. Also, I’m hoping they do a TV adaptation of TID too!


Summer’s questions:

1. If you could be immortal, would you choose to be?

To be honest, the thought is tempting. Imagine lying on your bed forever like a total sloth. Ahh! But no, of course. At some points, you’ll find yourself wondering when all these dreary, routine stuff would end. But of course, if I were Tessa Gray and have two lovely boys in different lifetimes, then be my guest.

2. Name five things you’ve never done but would like to do!

1. Meet other beings other than here on earth. (Seriously! I’m a firm believer that we’re not the lone living entities here in this vastness!)

2. Work in a socially-inclined organization

3. Write a book and have even at least one reader

4. Go to France and New Zealand

5. Relax and read a book in Bora Bora 3. What is your dream job?

Quick background: I’m a nutritionist who just recently graduated from college. While my mind is still fresh and idealistic, my dream job is to engage in a public-health related work. It’s difficult to land a job in the WHO and UNICEF but that’s what I would most like. Shoot for the stars not the moon, right? The idea of having a personal secretary, own fax machine and a paper shredder, and a designated room on one of the tallest sky scrapers of the world is appealing… but not to me.

Oh, the thought of getting a job as an usherette in a movie house has crossed my mind a thousand times. Talk about getting paid while having fun!

4. Name 3 characters that you would like to punch in the face.

Easy.

1. Dolores Umbridge  (HP series)

2. Joffrey Baratheon (A Song of Ice and Fire series)

3. Richie (Eleanor and Park)

5. What book were you “forced” to read in highschool but ended up loving?

Greek Mythology by Edith Hamilton. It’s why I picked up Percy Jackson, in the first place. The rest e.g. Shakespearean, I read them only hours before a test and swore never to revisit.


On to my questions!

The world exists in black and white. Which are you/do you prefer?

1. Asia or Europe?
2. Harry Potter or Twilight?
3. Day or night person?
4. Coffee or hot cocoa?
5. Loud and punk or slow and mellow music?
6. Crammer or ahead the deadline?
7. Young adult or new adult?
8. Fairy tale ending or non-fairy tale ending?
9. Couch potato or go-getter?
10. Greasy Big Mac or freshly-picked greens?


I tag these people to do this book tag too! Because this is a siblinghood and would consider just anybody, I’ve been digging through all the blogs I follow for both female and male book bloggers (or any gender, in fact). To be honest, it was a struggle to look for the latter. Haha!

Analee @ Book Snacks
Becca @ Becca and Books
Conny Kaufmann @ Study, Read, and Write
David Snape @ David Snape and Friends
Erika @ The Book’s The Thing
Erika @ Erika in Bookventureland
Josephine @ Josie’s Book Corner
Joey @ Thoughs and Afterthoughts
Joey @ Bloggin’ Books and Stuff
Katrina @ legalreader
Kyra and Nikki @ Kyraandnikki
Magicaath @ To all the Books I’ve Read Before
Rawls E. @  Rawls E. Fantasy
Shelumiel @ Bookish and Awesome
Shoto @ Books and Blah
Wesaun @ Oreos & Books

And to whoever wants to do this tag, go ahead!  

21 comments

  1. I loved all your answers! And I totally agree with you on that cover thing. I don’t like covers with people on the cover, especially half naked people *CRINGE* and especially not people showing PDA. Ugh!
    Thank you for tagging me! xoxo ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had no idea you were a nutritionist; that’s really cool! And one of my ideal travel destinations is actually New Zealand as well. I know I was a lazy bum not making up my own questions for this, but thank you for participating!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am but I’m very skinny so others don’t believe it. Haha! I remembered on one of your posts (if I’m correct), you want to go to Ireland which is a little like New Zealand. I like how the place has like a “Hobbit feel” in it. Well, yours has a lot of questions to choose from though. My pleasure 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Trisha. Thanks for the tag! I agree with many of the things you said on this post but, right now, I just want to shout YES UMBRIDGE AND JOFFREY! Also, yaaay Percy Jackson! And oh. Have you been following Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution?

    Like

    • You’re welcome 🙂 Are you watching the GOT series too? I’m not entirely sure if Joffrey’s as wicked in the book bc i just started reading a few chapters of the first book. And no I haven’t. What about it? I only watch Jamie Oliver’s show on TV sometimes 🙂

      Like

  4. Oh my goodness you read my mind! Umbridge and Joffrey are my top two people that I would want to punch in the face. Even though I just watched The Game of Thrones, I’m sure in the book I would like to punch Joffrey regardless. His character is so infuriating.

    Thanks for the nomination. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome! I hate it everytime Umbridge makes a “hem hem” noise. I just watched the series too and I got hooked instantly 🙂 Are you planning to read the book? I’m a bit hesitant bc it’s a very thick one. Haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh my gosh I wanted to choke her. HAHA

        As of now I’m still kind of behind on the TV series since I started out a bit late on it. However, I am actually more interested in just watching it than reading it. HAHA I may read it someday but it’s not something that I want to do at the moment…I may wait until the series is over.

        Like

      • I haven’t finished watching too. They said the book and the series are aligned except for the 4th season and so on. I know how you feel about reading that very thick and wordy book. Quite a struggle! Haha! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for nominating me, Trisha! 🙂 I liked your answers. Yeah, I avoid covers with that like the plague, lol XD they just don’t appeal to me at all. I too loved the Harry Potter movies; besides LoTR, they were great book-to-movie adaptations. 🙂 I like how you’re first book was the Encyclopedia. Mine was The Time Machine. Oh yes, New Zealand and Bora Bora are places I really want to visit!

    Like

    • You’re welcome! 🙂 I haven’t read any LoTR books yet. Is it better than the movies? Too wordy books are quite a struggle for me. Haha! But I’m practicing on A Song of Ice and Fire. Oh cool, how old were you when you read Time Machine? I’ve always wanted to try any HG Wells sci fi 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • LoTR books are as amazing as the movies, and more so because there are a lot of scenes and info that never made it into the films. They’re omniscient point of view, though, so a bit different from the modern books you find today, and a bit wordy, but I’d still recommend reading them. 🙂 I admit I’m not one for wordy books either (I tend to fall asleep, haha) but the need to know what happens next and the cool characters kept me going through LoTR. Audio books might be a better option, and feel less wordy.
        I was 11 when I read Time Machine. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sounds like a great read! I actually find some movie scenes in LoTR a little confusing not having read the book so I think I should give it/the audiobook a try. Thanks for sharing your viewpoint on this 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

