A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

I finished this book back in high school when I received it as a gift from a friend who, every Christmas, I had a book-giving tradition with (but sadly got impeded for some reasons I can’t trace back why). Recently, I reread the book and saw that the 6-year time lapse brought in me a different perspective to the book. It still springing with an aura of fascination making me quite hooked to the science fiction behind it so I’m thinking of writing it a proper review.


SYNOPSIS (from the book): It is a dark and stormy night. Meg Murry; her small brother, Charles Wallace; and their mother are in the kitchen for a midnight snack when a most disturbing visitor arrives. “Wild nights are my glory,” the unearthly stranger tells them. “I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a moment, and then I’ll be on my way. Speaking of ways, by the way there is such a thing as a tesseract.” Meg’s father had been experimenting with this fifth dimension of time travel when he mysteriously disappeared. Now the time has come for Meg, her friend Calvin and Charles Wallace to rescue him. But can they outwit the forces of evil they will encounter on their heart-stopping journey through space?


I noticed there’s a trend in most of my reviews where I have to ramble across the crappy things about a book first before going to the best ones. Maybe I’ll put up with the pattern for a while so I’ll begin with the repugnant parts. I’ll try to keep your boredom off course by keeping it a short rant. First, I don’t like Meg Murry. She’s so impatient. I’d like to blame myself for putting my personal hatred for the character since the author did warn me about this having made it crystal clear in describing how she wanted her Meg to be. Second, so much drama’s piling up I’m drowning in fake tears. It’s such an obnoxious cliché for a story to make love as the ultimate, most glorious answer to end all the horrible things. I’ve seen it in fairy tales (Beauty and the Beast, anyone?), and many fantasy novels (Delirium series, ugh!) I’m getting terribly sick with the authors shoving in my face, love cures everything. I’m not saying it’s untrue but it’s already getting old. I’m probably not human for saying this so feel free to judge me. Third.. uh, nothing! My list stops here which means, I like the rest of it.

A Wrinkle in Time is something for the outer space junkie and space travel enthusiast. Sorta like me. On one of my geeky reminiscence of self as a kid, the 9-year old me had always wanted to be an astronaut. In fact, my, for the lack of a better term, bookworm-hood began as I pore through thick heaps of books and encylopedias that contained knowledge of what lie beyond this small planet we call home. So yeah, Harry Potter wasn’t my first love.

The idea of a tesseract definitely sparked my interest I had to googe about space travel, Einstein and his time concept, and the fifth dimension right away. For enlightenment’s sake, a tesseract is a mode of travel where you wrinkle in time. An object on one end of a thread could get to the other side much faster if you put the two ends together or if you fold/wrinkle the thread. It’s probably not that possible to crunch the distance covered during travel without sheer magic but intuitively, I think this idea could be handy in space hopping soon.

I liked how creative the thoughts on the beings that thrived on other planets were fabricated.I think the concept that human beings are the most capable thinkers is only valid here on Earth. To bring it to a superior level of relativity like the cosmos is just plain narcissistic.  It’s so hard to believe we’re the lone organisms in this vast universe. Allow me to underscore the interesting ones. I imagine creatures from the 2-dimensional planet, though given a brief glare, were like papers. Camazotz remind me so much of the hit anime, Psychopass, where a system controls the minds of many. I only have one question and it bothers me up to this point: How come they can speak Engllish?

Madeleine L’Engle is a woman who believed she’s made of stardust. If those are things that bequeath you a talent so potent, then I truly believe she is. She’s really good with words. It’s not difficult to get immersed into her writing style. How shall I put it? Though the characters are generally the young, it falls midway between an adult and a children’s book. It’s not too simple for adults nor too hard for kids to comprehend. It’s probably one of the reasons this book won the prestigious John Newbery Medal and many more.

To conclude, I blatantly exposed my penchant for the science fiction behind the novel and L’Engle’s excellent style of writing but the drama itself wasn’t my cup of tea. So these are my stars for this book review.

It's okay

2 comments

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

