Harry Potter MOTW: Best Sirius Moment

Thursdays meant Harry Potter Moment of the Week time. This book meme is hosted by Uncorked Thoughts. If truth be told, I am really surprised I was able to do this meme punctually given all the things I have to attend to in my other life I’d like to call ‘reality’.

This week’s topic is “Best Sirius Moment”. There can be only a few to choose from because he came in so late and was gone so early in the series. But with those couple of times he appeared, us readers [I’m definitely sure!] were bombarded with so much emotions leaving us wanting more of him. I was practically unable to look at the world the same way after reading The Order of the Phoenix because of him. Like Siriusly!

Okay, enough about puns. The best Sirius moment for me was when he was reprimanding Snape about the possibility of Snivellus being an addition to Harry’s worry during Occlumency lessons.

“I’ll get to the point, then,” said Sirius, standing up. He was rather taller than Snape who, Harry noticed, balled his fist in the pocket of his cloak over what Harry was sure was the handle of his wand. “If I hear you’re using these Occlumency lessons to give Harry a hard time, you’ll have me to answer to.”

Ahh how awesome could it be to have a godfather like Sirius?! He was so protective to Harry in a sweet father/brother-like way. Not that kind where he’d get all strangled up in the neck. And after this:

To Harry: “I want you to take this,” he said quietly, thrusting a badly wrapped package roughly the size of a paperback book into Harry’s hands.
“What is it?” Harry asked.
“A way of letting me know if Snape‘s giving you a hard time. No, don’t open it here!” said Sirius, with a wary look at Mrs. Weasley, “I doubt Molly would approve — but I want you to use it if you need me, alright?”

Whose heart didn’t get shattered after realizing that this would be their last personal conversation? If you didn’t, you must not have been from this planet. Had Harry open it earlier, this could not have happened. I had a double dose of heartbreak when the fact that there could have been a way to prevent this talk from becoming the last hit me. J.K. Rowling is the Shonda Rhimes of the book world. She’ll move you in a cruel way but I love being sort of a masochist so I adore her just the same.

What is the Best Sirius Moment for you?

2 comments

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

