Where She Went by Gayle Forman

I finished Where She Went a little over a week ago. I’ve been meaning to write a review about this since then but some things kept getting the way so it had to wait. So this book had been sitting on my bookshelf for ages with one eyebrow shot up as if to say “Why did you even bother to buy me if you’re not even gonna read me?”. If you read my review from the first installment, If I Stay, you might think there’s not a fat chance I’m  giving this book a try. But I did anyway for the sake of the Goodreads reviews who claimed it’s worth the read.

Where She Went follows the story of Mia and Adam three years after the miserable car accident. Both were already living their dreams but were on separate tracks. When they met again, they spent the night on the busy streets of New York trying to search where their lost love had gone.

In this book, we surprisingly get a window of the guy’s viewpoint which is uncommon and I liked it more. It turned out that Adam’s thoughts were more gripping than Mia’s. For some reasons, I want to hug him and say “Everything will be okay” even if it’s a cliche.

I’d make that promise a thousand times over and lose her a thousand times over to have heard her play last night or to see her in the morning sunlight. Or even without that. Just to know that she’s somewhere out there. Alive.

I’ve always been a fan of a non-sexist environment and I believe that what one gender can do, the other can too. While some books tend to always have the guys pictured out as macho and invincible, here we witness the vulnerability of Adam, that he’s capable of overtly shedding tears too and pouring his heart out. And it’s okay to do so. A crying fit doesn’t make a guy any less of a person. This is a fact all of us should see.

Like If I Stay, this story remained to be generous on thoughts and reminiscence and scarce on some actual actions. I’ve always said I’m never a fan of a static plot but this could probably be an exception. For some reasons, I enjoyed the roller coaster ride of events that Adam Wilde recounted as he turned out to be the badass rocker guy he was. It just seemed befitting to love his past journeys filled with wretchedness and music either becoming therapeutic or further wreaking havoc.

As I read on, finding out the answers to Adam’s miserable three years, I felt a punch in the stomach. I wouldn’t dwell so much on the details to spare you the actual feeling of going into pieces while reading the pages.

You were so busy trying to be my savior that you left me all alone.

This is just a sneak peak so yes, there’s more that will rock you on your boat.This may not have been the love story that will beat the classics but it definitely ranks as one of the bests. Plus, the music’s great that I had to make up a rhythm that would go along with the wonderful lyrics.

Like it

2 comments

  1. This is one of my favourite books! Glad to hear you liked it. I actually didn’t like it so much when I first read it (maybe because it took me a long time to finish it) but after I gave it a reread, I really liked it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

