Harry Potter MOTW: Favorite Trelawney Prophecy

wpid-picsart_1428563939020.jpg

Hey Potterheads! So I found this incredibly fun book meme called Harry Potter Moment of the Week hosted by Uncorked Thoughts. Each week, the host posts any topic about Harry Potter and bloggers who want to join will elaborate on it. I was 10 when I fell in love with the wizard world and though the series already concluded, I know it still lives in me. Like a horcrux.

This week’s topic is Favorite Trelawney Prophecy. Yes, the oddball Divination professor.

Divination wasn’t really my cup of tea so sometimes I got tempted to skip the dreary parts that talked about it. But here’s one prophecy of hers I liked best.

‘The Inner Eye does not See upon command!’ she said in scandalised tones.
‘I see,’ said Professor Umbridge softly, making yet another note on her clipboard.
‘I – but – bit – wait!’ said Professor Trelawney suddenly, in an attempt at her usual ethereal voice, though the mystical effect was ruined somewhat by the way it was shaking with anger. ‘I… I think I do see something… something that concerns you… why, I sense something… something dark… some grave peril…’
Professor Trelawney pointed a shaking finger at Professor Umbridge who continued to smile blandly at her, eyebrows raised.
‘I am afraid… I am afraid that you are in grave danger!’ Professor Trelawney finished dramatically.

Sibyll may not have inherited the greatness of the celebrated Seer, Cassandra Trelawney, but there were times when she practically did. I’m glad this was one of those moments. Umbridge, with her toad-like beam, is such a horrible character she deserved the grave peril prophecy – the encounter with the centaurs of the Forbidden Forest. So when the inquisitor fired Sibyll believing she’s a complete lunatic, Umbridge knew she made a fool out of herself.

That’s all for now. What’s your favorite prophecy of hers?

6 comments

  1. Trelawny is the most INSANE professor EVER. I dont know if you realised but during the Christmas Feast when Harry was at Hogwarts, they were all sitting on a table of 12 and eating when Trelawney comes. She gets invited by Dumbledore but she refuses and says that it will become 13 and the first one who rises dies. Then in order of pheonix when Harry was sitting at a table of thirteen with Sirius and Sirius is the first to get up and he was the first to die. I read about it in a website and I was like MINDBLOWN. Like how crazy is that?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have no idea. Probably. The weird fact is that at first I was against Harry Potter but everyone was shoving the books in my face and I decided to read it. And now I LOVE HARRY POTTER. Its so embarassing to remember the times I was against it……..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay fellow Potterhead! *fistbump*I practically lived my whole life loving Harry Potter. I’m so loyal I even refused to read Twilight when all the people in the world did.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh good glad you don’t like it either 😀 I would never ever read Twilight even if it’s my only companion in jail!!

      Like

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

