Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Hey initiates! I’m doing a review of Insurgent [I hate it when I state the obvious!] which I read some time a year ago. Well, today just happened to be a very opportune moment as we would once again be seeing Shailene Woodley and Theo James kicking the theaters in a matter of days.

I want to say that I liked the book. SO. MUCH. When I started picking up the Divergent trilogy, I was like, “Ok, let’s give this Hunger-Games wannabe a try”. But, Some pages and a couple of gasps of exhilaration later, I realized it was nothing like the Capitol and the Districts… except perhaps for the same Dystopian theme. The whole thought of a faction system was brilliant. I was actually wondering if I ever get sorted into one, perhaps, if not Divergent, I would pioneer schlump faction.

Compared with the first installment, I liked Insurgent better. Divergent devoted too much on Tris’s journey as an initiate rather than the soul itself, the uprising. In Insurgent, the plot started just where Divergent left off, like a chapter that could no longer be squeezed on the first that it had to just appear on the next. So at the beginning, there was already the tension I was seeking for. I wouldn’t dwell so much about the sequences of the events but if you want to see for yourself, here’s a synopsis.

What I liked here is that Veronica Roth showered limelight to each faction, which, on the first book, seemed like accessory elements only. Tris, and her, colleagues went from faction to faction [and to factionless] so we get to stand behind a window that showcased their culture. With that, there’s so much dynamic events that one couldn’t get help but read quick with the rush of excitement.

Additionally, Tris had definitely sparked with so much freaking feminine power. There’s always something adorable about strong female leads like Katniss Everdeen, Clary Fray, Tessa Gray, Hermione Granger, and others. But, there’s a very thin line between strength and annoying obstinacy, and our Insurgent crossed it. When she went to surrender herself to Jeanine, for me she’s being stupid rather than heroic. It hasn’t even occurred to Tris that the Erudite leader wasn’t someone supposed to be trusted with her words, that Jeanine didn’t have a drop of Candor blood. I’m sorry, I just thought that part was plain dense and pointless.

But here’s a cherry on top. Tris and Tobias had that incredible love, one that is dauntless, abnegation, and amity all at once. As a reader, you can’t help but get drawn. So after Tris’s preposterous act of caving in, Tobias predictably came and this was what he said:

“You die, I die too.” Tobias looks over his shoulder at me. “I asked you not to do this. You made your decision. These are the repercussions.”

Kind of reminds me of Jack Dawson from Titanic and his “You jump, I jump” thing. This moment was just really captivating I had to pause and picture it perfectly in my head. They better scene it well in the movies. If only Tobias would go by Four instead, everything would be flawless. I just feel like the name Four is more befitting and less.. ugly? But that’s totally off the topic. Point is, theirs was a relationship you wouldn’t want to puke on while reading despite the sneaking out and small intimate things. At this book, at least.

Roth is a spectacular author. No doubt. She knows how to put together the appropriate words that would tug your heartstrings, bombard you with inspirations, and haul all your emotions out. And for that, she’s getting this: Like it

At this point, I am partly reluctant to see this in the big screen. You know what they say about filmmakers who mess up a good book. I just hope they wouldn’t disappoint thousands of readers who wanted justice so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

9 comments

  1. Ugh, I still haven’t read this one or Divergent. But I need to! I think you may have an unpopular opinion of liking Insurgent better than Divergent, because most reviews I’ve read have stated the opposite. Now I’m curious what you’ll think about Allegiant, since so many people hated that book compared to the first two in the trilogy. Nice review, Trisha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Summer! I don’t know I just found Insurgent’s excitement level more hyped up haha. I hated Allegiant just at some points but I liked how it all concluded contrary to what others think. You should put this on your reading list 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Now that’s a tough one. Erudite perhaps since I’m fond of seeking knowledge from books 🙂 One thing’s definite though – I won’t pass as an Amity lol. How about you?

      Liked by 1 person

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

