Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Is it possible for home to be a person and not a place?

You may read the synopsis here.

Writing style: I’ve read this after THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS and after burrowing myself in the shadow world, this novella is such a refreshment. Like floating in a sea of clouds. What I like about Stephanie Perkins’ style here is that she wrote in a no-nonsensical, cut-the-crap manner. Unlike other authors who waste so much trees writing down the character’s irrelevant thoughts, it didn’t spell out the word “boring” audibly. The dialogues were packed with a good dose of sense of humor and love that made me smile and blush at the same time.

The main characters: They were perfectly defined and I mean literally. St. Clair was someone who would sweep the feet of all the girls and I had to admit I am one of those who fell. Tee hee :”> His sexy british accent always demanded attention (even inspired me take YouTube tutorials in posh Brit pronunciation, yes!). He’s Robert Pattinson, only shorter. Anna, on the other hand, was definitely an object of men’s desire though not much were said since she’s basically narrating everything and it would be selfish if she looked at herself as such. Except for his height deficit and her being slightly gap-toothed, they wore the modern faces of gods and goddesses. And here goes again the fairy tale caravan. I have nothing against beauty but it’s just a usual theme; one of those which unconsciously bars the ugly from getting their happy ever after. Enough about physical stuff, I liked how the two valued  the people they were committed to despite the strong pull of attraction between them (though the French kiss aka the cheating part came out before everything’s cleared).

The plot: The story evoked typical teenage drama – wars between cliques, boyfriend stealing, man pride and ego, etc. High school, for most, was a memory of bullied life and this pretty much discussed it. Some were first-world problem – like how to order French – but it chiefly dealt with the all-time dilemma of children from broken American families. I found it appealing how all these kinds were mixed up and creatively used to complicate the story. Anna and Etienne’s love adventure progressed from infatuation to best-friendship and finally to boyfriend-girlfriend thing. Because love at first sight is too cliche, I find it always adorable for love to sprout from friendship.

Verdict: This book is recommendable to both adults and young adults of both genders. Yes, you could read it too, boys. This is from a point of view of a woman so you guys could benefit from it highly.

For Anna Oliphant and Etienne St. Clair’s young but definitely growing love… and of course, the sexy British accent that seemingly vibrates through my eardrums, here are my stars:

Like it

5 comments

  1. Hey there! I’m a newbie to the world of book blogging as well. Just wanted to say hi! This book is on my to-be-read pile, staring me down. You’ve just made me want to read it even more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Feel free to tell me what you think :)

